Morphine - Good

 (Numbered Limited Expanded Edition)


Run Out Groove



Product No.:
UPC: 081227910495
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
New Arrival

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

180-gram expanded double LP edition

Includes previously unreleased alternates, demos and live tracks

Remastered for maximum fidelity and sourced from Dana Colley's original master tapes

Lacquers cut at Sam Phillips Recording Studio in Memphis

Deluxe gatefold tip-on style jacket with updated liner notes from producer Paul Kolderie and mastering engineer/co-producer Pete Weiss

Each 2LP set is individually numbered and pressing is strictly limited based on preorders received!

One of the most unique, original and unusual rock bands to burst onto the alternative scene in the '90s, Morphine was originally formed by vocalist/bassist Mark Sandman, saxophonist Dana Colley and drummer Jerome Deupree (later replaced by Billy Conway) in Cambridge, Mass in 1989. They expertly combined blues, jazz and rock elements into a very distinct style, anchored by Sandman's deep, crooning, beat-style vocals. Rather than having an electric guitar as the focal point like most rock bands, the trio's sound was built around Sandman's two-string electric bass (often deployed with a slide) and Colley's growling, baritone sax which was dubbed as "low-rock."

The band enjoyed critical acclaim but saw mixed results commercially. They did enjoy higher profile success overseas, especially in Belgium, Portugal France and Australia where they were featured on music television programming frequently and filled much larger venues. After five studio albums and extensive touring, Morphine disbanded after Mark tragically died of a heart attack performing on stage at the Giardini del Principe in Palestrina, Italy. Surviving members have soldiered on in various incarnations, the most recent being the Vapors of Morphine.

Good is the first album recorded by Morphine and was originally released on the Accurate label in 1992 and then re-released by Rykodisc in 1993. Run Out Groove's deluxe 2LP expanded edition includes a bonus LP of alternates, live and demo tracks licensed from the Mark Sandman Estate.

Side A
1. Good
2. The Saddest Song
3. Claire
4. Have A Lucky Day
5. You Speak My Language
6. You Look Like Rain

Side B
1. Do Not Go Quietly Unto Your Grave
2. Lisa
3. The Only One
4. Test-Tube Baby/Shoot’m Down
5. The Other Side
6. I Know You (Part I)
7. I Know You (Part II)

Side C
1. Where’s The Sun Go (previously unreleased. Recorded at the Outpost 10/24/90)
2. Shame (previously unavailable on vinyl. Recorded at the Outpost 10/24/90)
3. The Only One (previously unreleased. Recorded live on WERS radio 9/9/90)
4. If You Live/Basics Son Of Sleep (previously unreleased, recorded 6/90)
5. Work-Mom Bomb (previously unreleased)
6. The Old Days (It’s Not Like That Anymore) (previously unreleased)

Side D
1. Let’s Dance (Mark Sandman voice message) / Come Over (early version Christmas 1991)
2. The Saddest Song (alternate version) (Basics Son of Sleep 6/90) (previously unreleased alternate version, recorded 6/90)
3. Mona’s Sister (Treat Her Right) (previously unreleased alternate version)
4. You’re Worse – Looking Good (edited) (early incarnation of the track “Good”)
5. Test-Tube Baby/Shoot’m Down (longer alternate version) (alternate version)
6. Yes idea (M. Sandman – Cinematic Music) /Morphine Gig Ad (Mark voice message) (Mark Sandman solo)

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Phenomenal SQ and packaging

posted on 02/09/2020
5 Stars
Reviewer: Nick P.
This particular pressing’s sound quality is absolutely phenomenal! The 2nd LP of unreleased “extras” is just as good. ROG went especially all out with this 2xLP set, both with amazingly excellent sound, as well as going way above and beyond with the packaging. It’s just plain spectacular in every way. ROG definitely hit the mark on this one!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.