The Doors - The Soft Parade

 (50th Anniversary 2019 Remaster Deluxe Edition 3 CDs + 1 180 Gram LP)

50th Anniversary 3CD + LP set expands the band's fourth album

Contains nearly two hours of unissued recordings!

Stripped-down "Doors-Only" mixes of "Touch Me," "Wishful Sinful," and "Tell All The People"

New 2019 guitar overdubs by Robby Krieger

Original album with brand-new mastering by Bernie Grundman

The Doors' fourth studio album, The Soft Parade, became the band's fourth straight Top 10 album when it was released 50 years ago on July 18, 1969. Despite featuring one of the group's biggest hits — "Touch Me" — it remains the most-polarizing record of The Doors' career thanks to the brass and string arrangements that embellish several tracks.

To commemorate the album's 50th anniversary, Rhino reimagines The Soft Parade on a newly-expanded 3CD / LP set that will be available Oct. 18, 2019. The Soft Parade: 50th Anniversary Deluxe Edition includes the original studio album — and the B-side "Who Scared You" — newly remastered by Bruce Botnick, The Doors' longtime engineer and mixer. The collection is a limited edition of 15,000 individually numbered copies and also includes the original album on 180-gram vinyl along with liner notes by noted rock journalist David Fricke.

The core of the new collection is comprised of more than a dozen unreleased songs. Among the highlights are stripped down "Doors Onlyl" versions of five tracks where the horns and strings have been removed ("Tell All The People," "Touch Me," "Wishful Sinful," "Runnin' Blue," and "Who Scared You.") The set also features three of those stripped-back versions with new guitar parts added by Robby Krieger ("Touch Me," "Wishful Sinful," and "Runnin' Blue.")

A trio of studio outtakes collected on the set's final disc features the much-bootlegged, hour-long jam, "Rock Is Dead," which appears here in its entire, surviving form for the first time ever. The track finds The Doors riffling through the entire history of rock 'n' roll, from eaarly delta blues through surf music, ending with the death of rock."

Disc One
1. Tell All The People
2. Touch Me
3. Shaman’s Blues
4. Do It
5. Easy Ride
6. Wild Child
7. Runnin’ Blue
8. Wishful Sinful
9. The Soft Parade
10. Who Scared You – B-side (BONUS TRACK)

Disc Two
1. Tell All The People (Doors only mix)*
2. Touch Me (Doors only mix w/new Robby Krieger guitar overdub)*
3. Runnin’ Blue (Doors only mix w/new Robby Krieger guitar overdub)*
4. Wishful Sinful (Doors only mix w/new Robby Krieger guitar overdub)*
5. Who Scared You (Doors only mix)*
6. Roadhouse Blues – Screamin’ Ray Daniels (a.k.a. Ray Manzarek) on vocal*
7. (You Need Meat) Don’t Go No Further – Screamin’ Ray Daniels (a.k.a. Ray Manzarek) on vocal*
8. I’m Your Doctor – Screamin’ Ray Daniels (a.k.a. Ray Manzarek) on vocal*
9. Touch Me (Doors only mix)*
10. Runnin’ Blue (Doors only mix) *
11. Wishful Sinful (Doors only mix)*

Disc Three
1. I Am Troubled
2. Seminary School (aka “Petition The Lord With Prayer”) *
3. Rock Is Dead – Complete Version *
3. Chaos *

* previously unreleased

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it