The Cult - Sonic Temple

 (30th Anniversary Deluxe Numbered Edition 3 LPs + Cassette)


Beggars Banquet



Product No.:
ABBQ 82151
UPC: 607618215101
In Stock

Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3
New Arrival


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl Record
30th Anniversary Edition

Deluxe box set featuring the 1989 classic album!

The Cult will release a deluxe 30th anniversary box set of their 1989 album Sonic Temple.

The box set includes three vinyl LPs plus a cassette, featuring previously unreleased tracks, demo versions and a show recorded live at Wembley Arena, plus replica laminate, backstage pass, original press releases and more. It will be limited to 3,000 copies, with each box set numbered.

Originally released in 1989, Sonic Temple proved to be a pivotal moment for both the band and the wider rock scene. Produced by the legendary Bob Rock, Sonic Temple had four chart-topping singles: "Fire Woman," "Edie (Ciao Baby),' "Sun King" and "Sweet Soul Sister."

In a recent interview about the album, Ian Astbury explained how the band brought together hard rock and indie rock to create the unique, game-changing sounds on Sonic Temple.

"We wanted to retain our core DNA as we went deeper into psych and hard rock influences. It was a complete immersion for me into art, film, music, poetry and literature, weaving those influences into what was to become Sonic Temple. The band was becoming more popular. We were in uncharted waters. Most of the bands we had come up with had split up or fallen off. We were accelerating. There was no real time to breathe. We were forming new allegiances and breaking the glass ceiling of 'the indie outsider.'"

The album catapulted The Cult into superstar status and it remains their most commercially successful release. Sonic Temple has sold more than 1.5 million copies in the U.S. alone and was certified platinum in 1990. It made it to No. 10 on the Billboard charts, and the aforementioned songs all remain rock-radio staples to this day.

LP 1
Side 1
1. Sun King
2. Fire Woman
3. American Horse
4. Edie (Ciao Baby)
Side 2
1. Sweet Soul Sister
2. Soul Asylum
3. New York City
4. Automatic Blues

LP 2
Side 1
1. Soldier Blue
2. Wake Up Time For Freedom
3. Medicine Train
4. The River
Side 2
1. Bleeding Heart Graffitti
2. Messin' Up The Blues
3. Fire Woman (NYC Rock Mix)
4. Edie (Ciao Baby) (Acoustic)

LP 3
Side 1
1. New York City (Live At Wembly)
2. Automatic Blues (Live At Wembly)
3. American Horse (Live At Wembly)
4. Sun King (Live At Wembly)
Side 2
1. Soul Asylum (Live At Wembly)
2. Sweet Soul Sister (Live At Wembly)
3. Fire Woman (Live At Wembly)

Side 1
1. Sonic Temple Radio Promo
2. New York City (demo)
3. American Horse (demo)
4. Sun King (demo)
5. Automatic Blues (demo)
6. Yes Man (demo)
7. Wake Up Time For Freedom (demo)
8. Citadel (demo)
9. The River (demo)
Side 2
1. The Crystal Ocean (demo)
2. Cashmere (demo)
3. Edie (Ciao Baby) (demo)
4. Bleeding Heart Revival
5. Star Child (demo)
6. Medicine Train (Rock Demo)
7. New York City (Rock Demo)
8. Fire (Woman) (Rock Demo)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it