Various Artists - Aladdin: The Songs

 (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)


Walt Disney Records



Product No.:
AWLT 41701
UPC: 050087419837
Back Ordered

Vinyl Record

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Soundtrack to live-action remake of 1992 animated classic

Hit songs including "A Whole New World," "Speechless" and "Friend Like Me"

Aladdin (2019) is Disney's latest live-action remake of an animated classic, bringing not only a fresh spin to the story but the musical's songs as well. Directed by Guy Ritchie, Aladdin doesn't veer too far from its roots in the 1992 animated feature, but in the few places that it does, it's hard to argue with the changes as they do (for the most part) improve the film.

Aladdin (2019) includes all of the animated feature's original songs composed by Alan Menken with lyrics by Howard Ashman and Tim Rice. Menken returns to expand on his Aladdin score for this film and is joined by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (La La Land, The Greatest Showman). The songwriting duo were brought on to help rework the lyrics to a few of the original tunes, updating them for modern audiences, and they also contribute a brand new song to soundtrack.

Disney smartly chose to cast relative unknowns Mena Massoud and Naomi Scott in the roles of Aladdin and Jasmine, opting for actors who can sing (and sing well) over more established stars. However, again in the tradition of the 1992 animated feature, Aladdin (2019) lands their big name for the Genie, casting bona fide movie star Will Smith in the role. He's no stranger to singing (or rapping) a tune or two.

Side One:
1. Arabian Nights (2019) - performed by Will Smith
2. One Jump Ahead - performed by Mena Massoud
3. One Jump Ahead (Reprise) - performed by Mena Massoud
4. Speechless (Part 1) - performed by Naomi Scott
5. Friend Like Me - performed by Will Smith
6. Prince Ali - performed by Will Smith

Side Two:
1. A Whole New World - performed by Mena Massoud & Naomi Scott
2. One Jump Ahead (Reprise 2) - performed by Mena Massoud
3. Speechless (Part 2) - performed by Naomi Scott
4. A Whole New World (End Title) - performed by Zayn and Zhavia Ward
5. Friend Like Me (End Title) - performed by Will Smith featuring DJ Khaled
6. Speechless (Full) - performed by Naomi Scott

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it