The Velvet Underground - The Verve/MGM Albums Box Set

 (Mono Version)





Product No.:
ASUN 400314
UPC: 090771400314
Back Ordered

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 5
New Arrival


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Vinyl Box Sets
Mono Version

The Velvet Underground Verve/MGM albums in a five-LP deluxe box set!

Includes the rare mono versions of the Velvet Underground's first three albums; the superior mono version of Nico's Chelsea Girl (featuring Reed, Cale and Morrison) and a definitive edition of the band's unfinished fourth album!

Introduction by Rolling Stone senior editor/Mojo contributor David Fricke. Sourced from the original Verve/MGM analog reels and mastered by Bob Irwin. Lacquers cut by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Plated and pressed at RTI

Housed in a beautiful deluxe box with all-original LP artwork along with two bonus poster inserts!

This is a box of essential rock 'n' roll history as well as magic! No group embodied challenge and transgression in the mid- and late 1960s like the Velvet Underground. Few bands of any time have altered rock's future so decisively, at such a high price. Born in New York, into a true underground of art, film and social deviance, the Velvets were ignored, misunderstood — even savaged in their time. None of the four official releases in this set made it into Billboard's Top 100.

At a time when the Rolling Stones were forbidden from singing about spending the night together on national television, the Velvet Underground was crafting songs about such taboo subjects as illegal drugs, sadomasochism and black angels of death. And that was just on their debut. Throughout their first three albums, VU continued to challenge societal norms through their lyrics and rock music itself through their unorthodox instrumental approach.

The majority of popular music fans simply weren't ready for the bleakly beautiful vision of VU. But for those who were, this LP trilogy was a clarion call, drawing together the outsiders who felt disenfranchised and unfulfilled by Top Forty fodder. Like time release capsules, these LPs became catalysts for change as they spread from city to city and were consumed by adventurous listeners. Bands formed, scenes coalesced and new musical paths emerged which would eventually branch off into punk, alternative, indie and more. Take a sample from any underground music genre and you're likely to find VU DNA pulsing through its core.

AllMusic Guide says: "The member most responsible for these qualities was guitarist, singer, and songwriter Lou Reed, whose sing-speak vocals and gripping narratives have come to define street-savvy rock & roll." As Reed pointed out years later, "Rock does this thing to you — you get directly to somebody, unfiltered." The most important thing, he insisted, "was the records going out, going to people."

This is how it happened between 1967 and 1969, presented today by Sundazed Records on long-playing vinyl, with striking, unprecedented cover art. The box includes the Warholian Velvet Underground Reproduction Poster and a replica of the OG Marketing Poster plus a Banana Sticker.


The Velvet Underground & Nico
Side 1
1. Sunday Morning
2. I’m Waiting for the Man
3. Femme Fatale
4. Venus In Furs
5. Run Run Run
6. All Tomorrow’s Parties
Side 2
1. Heroin
2. There She Goes Again
3. I’ll Be Your Mirror
4. The Black Angel’s Death Song
5. European Son

Nico: Chelsea Girl
Side 1
1. The Fairest of the Seasons
2. These Days
3. Little Sister
4. Winter Song
5. It Was a Pleasure Then
Side 2
1. Chelsea Girls
2. I’ll Keep It with Mine
3. Somewhere There’s a Feather
4. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams
5. Eulogy to Lenny Bruce

White Light/White Heat
Side 1
1. White Light/White Heat
2. The Gift
3. Lady Godiva’s Operation
4. Here She Comes Now
Side 2
1. I Heard Her Call My Name
2. Sister Ray

The Velvet Underground
Side 1
1. Candy Says
2. What Goes On
3. Some Kinda Love
4. Pale Blue Eyes
5. Jesus
Side 2
1. Beginning to See the Light
2. I’m Set Free
3. That’s the Story of My Life
4. The Murder Mystery
5. Afterhours

Side 1
1. Foggy Notion
2. One of These Days
3. Lisa Says
4. I’m Sticking with You
5. Ocean
Side 2
1. I Can’t Stand It
2. I’m Gonna Move Right In
3. We’re Gonna Have a Real Good Time Together
4. Rock and Roll
5. Ride into the Sun

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it