Oscar Peterson Trio - 1961 Cologne Gurzenich Concert Hall





Product No.:
AJZLI 78004
EAN: 4049774780042
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
Blu-ray Audio
Blu-Ray Pure Audio

180-gram gatefold double LP

The Oscar Peterson Trio's 1961 Cologne Gurzenich Concert Hall presents an original master concert recording from April 11, 1961, performed in Cologne, Germany at the Gürzenich Concert Hall. Previously unreleased, until 2010, as a release in the WDR: The Cologne Broadcasts series, Jazzline presents it here with composer credits and liner notes by journalist and radio host Karsten Mützelfeldt in English and German.

Many experts believe the trio of Oscar Peterson, with bassist Ray Brown and drummer Ed Thigpen was the pianist's best group; it existed for six years between 1959 and 1965. The concert itself was part of the Konzert Für Die Jugend series, part of activity on the part of WDR to introduce selected artists to German adolescents. The other group performing that day was the Orchester Kurt Edelhagen, and the idea was to create a lasting enthusiasm among young people and to foster future jazz aficionados. Mastered by Thomas Sehringer at WDR Studio TBR 91.

1. My Heart Stood Still
2. Band Call
3. Con Alma
4. Cuban Chant
5. Liza (All The Clouds'll Roll Away)
6. Where Do I Go From Here
7. My Funny Valentine
8. I Remember Clifford
9. Chicago
10. On Green Dolphin Street
11. Salt Peanuts
12. St. Louis Blues
13. Vendome

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it