Aretha Franklin - Atlantic Records 1960s Collection





Product No.:
AATL 574162
UPC: 603497855681
In Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 6

Original Price: $124.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Atlantic Records 1960s Collection 6LP Vinyl Box Set

Documents Aretha Franklin's unprecedented 1960s run!

Includes bonus collection of 11 rare studio demos and outtakes

When Aretha Franklin joined Atlantic Records in 1967, it was the beginning of an unprecedented run that would ultimately cement her place as a music legend, a global household name, and one of the most influential singers of all time. Within the space of just a few years, her name was almost never out of U.S Pop and R&B Top 20, garnering nine gold singles, three gold albums, as well as three Grammy Awards and her first string of international hits.

The 6LP box set, Atlantic Records 1960s Collection gathers the five landmark albums The Queen of Soul released from 1967-1969 including mono versions of I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You (1967), and Aretha Arrives (1967) and stereo versions of 1968's Lady Soul and Aretha Now and 1969's Soul '69. The set also throws in a bonus disc of eleven rare studio demos and outtakes.

These cornerstone records are stacked with many of Franklin's best-known songs, including No. 1 R&B hits like "I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)," "Respect" (also a Pop No. 1), "Baby I Love You," "Chain Of Fools," "(Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone" and "Think."




LP 1
I Never Loved A Man The Way I Love You (Mono)
Originally Released: March 10, 1967
Side A:
1. Respect
2. Drown In My Own Tears
3. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
4. Soul Serenade
5. Don't Let Me Lose This Dream
6. Baby Baby Baby
Side B:
1. Dr. Feelgood (Love Is A Serious Business)
2. Good Times
3. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
4. Save Me
5. A Change Is Gonna Come

LP 2
Aretha Arrives (Mono)
Originally Released: August 4, 1967
Side A:
1. Satisfaction
2. You Are My Sunshine
3. Never Let Me Go
4. 96 Tears
5. Prove It
6. Night Life
Side B:
1. That's Life
2. I Wonder
3. Ain't Nobody (Gonna Turn Me Around)
4. Going Down Slow
5. Baby, I Love You

LP 3
Lady Soul (Stereo)
Originally Released: January 22, 1968
Side A:
1. Chain Of Fools
2. Money Won't Change You
3. People Get Ready
4. Niki Hoeky
5. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman
Side B:
1. Since You've Been Gone (Sweet Sweet Baby)
2. Good To Me As I Am To You
3. Come Back Baby
4. Groovin'
5. Ain't No Way

LP 4
Aretha Now (Stereo)
Originally Released: June 14, 1968
Side A:
1. Think
2. I Say A Little Prayer
3. See Saw
4. Night Time Is The Right Time
5. You Send Me
Side B:
1. You're A Sweet Sweet Man
2. I Take What I Want
3. Hello Sunshine
4. A Change
5. I Can't See Myself Leaving You

LP 5
Soul '69 (Stereo)
Originally Released: January 17, 1969
Side A:
1. Ramblin'
2. Today I Sing The Blues
3. River's Invitation
4. Pitiful
5. Crazy He Calls Me
6. Bring It On Home To Me
Side B:
1. Tracks Of My Tears
2. If You Gotta Make A Fool Of Somebody
3. Gentle On My Mind
4. So Long
5. I'll Never Be Free
6. Elusive Butterfly

LP 6
Rarities From The '60s (Mono/Stereo)
Originally Released: October 16, 2007
Side A:
1. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) [Demo]
2. Dr. Feelgood (Love Is A Serious Business) [Demo]
3. It Was You [Outtake]
4. The Letter [Outtake]
5. So Soon [Outtake]
Side B:
1. Mr. Big [Outtake]
2. Talk To Me, Talk To Me [Outtake]
3. The Fool On The Hill [Outtake]
4. You're Taking Up Another Man's Place [Outtake]
5. You Keep Me Hangin' On [Outtake]
6. I'm Trying To Overcome [Outtake]

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it