Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Jean Rondeau - Scarlatti: Sonatas


Warner Classics



Product No.:
AWCL 574291
UPC: 190295633646
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Limited time album download included

For his third Erato album of harpsichord music, Jean Rondeau turns to Domenico Scarlatti and some 20 of the often-dazzling sonatas that the Neapolitan composer wrote during his years at the royal court in Madrid. Imbued with the spirit of the dance, they are works that Rondeau uses "to tell a story for the people who will listen to an album from beginning to end ... An artist must consider how he tells his story, how he can stimulate the public's curiosity."

Rondeau studied harpsichord with Blandine Verlet for more than 10 years, followed by training in basso continuo, organ, piano, jazz and improvisation, and conducting. He pursued further studies at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris, graduating with honours, and the Guildhall School of Music and Drama in London. In 2012, at just 21 years old, he became one of the youngest performers ever to take First Prize at the International Harpsichord Competition in Bruges (MAfestival 2012), also winning the EUBO Development Trust prize; an accolade bestowed on the most promising young musician of the European Union.

The same year, he claimed second place in the Prague Spring International Harpsichord Competition (64th edition of the Festival, 2012), along with a nod for the best interpretation of the contemporary piece composed specially for that contest. In 2013, he also won thePrix desRadios Francophones Publiques. Rondeau is in demand for solo, chamber music and orchestral appearances throughout Europe and in the United States. He frequently performs with the Baroque quartet Nevermind. Quite apart from his activities as harpsichordist, he founded the ensemble Note Forget, presenting his own jazz-oriented compositions and improvisations on piano. Rondeau is signed to Erato as an exclusive recording artist. January 2015 saw the release of his debut solo album, Imagine, dedicated to the music of J.S. Bach on harpsichord.

1. Keyboard Sonata in A Major, K. 208
2. Keyboard Sonata in A Minor, K. 175
3. Keyboard Sonata in F Minor, K. 69
4. Keyboard Sonata in D Minor, K. 141
5. Keyboard Sonata in D Minor, K. 213
6. Keyboard Sonata in E Major, K. 216
7. Keyboard Sonata in E Major, K. 162
8. Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 132
9. Interlude - Impro Intermission
10. Keyboard Sonata in F Major, K. 6
11. Keyboard Sonata in G Major, K. 180
12. Keyboard Sonata in G Minor, K. 30
13. Keyboard Sonata in D Major, K. 119
14. Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 199
15. Keyboard Sonata in C Major, K. 460
16. Keyboard Sonata in F Minor, K. 481

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it