Various Artists - Nicola Conte Presents Cosmic Forest: The Spiritual Sounds of MPS





Product No.:
AMPS 212269
UPC: 402975912269
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram gatefold double LP

There are still little-known gems to discover within the MPS catalogue. For instance, Cosmic Forest curated by Nicola Conte.

Cosmic Forest is a compilation that highlights some of the most compelling "spiritual jazz" recordings from 1965 to 1975. Conte, a world-renowned Italian musician and producer, as well as a passionate DJ and record collector, is a connoisseur of European jazz with an astounding ability to dig a little deeper when it comes to arranging such a compilation.

In this case, he concentrated on the spiritual highpoints of the MPS catalogue, highlighting both well-known and obscure musical treasures, while connecting disparate pieces through a personal common thread. The choice of individual titles and the flowing character of their arrangement lend the album a quality of timelessness, while showcasing the breadth of the entire "cosmic jazz collection" within the MPS archives.


Side A
1. The Third Wave - Maiden Voyage
2. Nathan Davis - Evolution
3. Dexter Gordon & Slide Hampton - A Day In Vienna

Side B
1. Motihar Trio/Schweizer Trio/Schoof/Wilen - Yaad
2. George Gruntz - Djerbi
3. The Albert Mangelsdorff Quartet - Never Let It End

Side C
1. Smoke - Shelda
2. Michael Naura Quartet - Soledad De Murcia
3. The MPS Rhythm Combination & Brass - Timbales Calientes

Side D
1. El Babaku - El Babaku
2. Hannibal and The Sunrise Orchestra - Revelation
3. Tony Scott and The Indonesian Allstars - Burungkaka Tua
4. Dave Pike Set - Raga Jeeva Swara

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it