J.D. Souther - John David Souther





Product No.:
AOMN 101168
UPC: 816651011681
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP


or Add to Wishlist

Iconic songwriter's solo debut — expanded!

Remastered by Kevin Gray from the original tapes

Pressed at RTI

Before he was co-writing No. 1 Eagles hits such as "Best Of My Love," "New Kid In Town," and "Heartache Tonight" with Glenn Frey and Don Henley, JD Souther formed Longbranch/Pennywhistle with Frey when they were roommates. Their downstairs neighbor was a fellow by the name of Jackson Browne, who took Souther to audition for his boss, David Geffen, who had recently formed the Asylum Records label. After hearing two songs, Geffen told Souther to "go make a record." And, that's exactly what he did.

John David Souther arrived in 1971, and was immediately a critical success and established Souther as a, if not the songwriter to watch. (He would later be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame 42 years later...)

Co-produced by Souther and Fred Catero (who had recently finished Santana's Abraxas), John David Souther featured 10 originals — all stunning, and many of which would be covered by artists such as Bonnie Raitt ("Run Like A Thief") and his old friends the Eagles, who released "How Long" as the first single from their 2007 comeback and multi-platinum smash, Long Road Out Of Eden.

John David Souther was, and is, the perfect introduction to the singer and performer behind the songs. Still relevant more than four decades later, John David Souther shows the emergence of one of music's most influential artists.



Side 1
01 The Fast One
02 Run Like a Thief
03 Jesus In 3/4 Time
04 Kite Woman
05 Some People Call It Music

Side 2
01 White Wing
02 It's the Same
03 How Long
04 Out To Sea
05 Lullaby

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it