Richard Thompson - 13 Rivers


New West Records



Product No.:
AWST 5259
UPC: 607396525911
In Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download

150-gram gatefold black double LP!

His first self-produced record in more than a decade!

Richard Thompson's new album, 13 Rivers, is the artist's first self-produced record in more than a decade. 13 Rivers is a minimal and spacious recording which, according to Thompson, is a projection of current events in his life. "This has been an intense year for myself and my family, getting older doesn't mean that life gets easier!

"There are surprises around every bend. I think this reflects in the immediacy of the stories, and the passion in the songs. Sometimes I am speaking directly about events, at other times songs are an imaginative spin on what life throws at you. The music is just a mirror to life, but we try to polish that mirror as brightly as possible."

The sessions were tracked at Boulevard Recording in Los Angeles. 13 Rivers spans 13 tracks and features Richard's regular accompanists, Michael Jerome and Taras Prodaniuk, as well as Thompson's long tenured guitar tech, Bobby Eichorn, on second guitar. Each track on the album was recorded in analog, with minimal overdubbing.

"Boulevard is a really funky looking studio," says Richard, "but it sounds great. It used to be called The Producer's Workshop, and was owned by Liberace, whose ghost is reportedly still hanging around. Steely Dan records were done there, and The Wall by Pink Floyd was mixed there. Clay Blair, the engineer, is a Beatles nut, and has every piece of Beatles gear he can lay his hands on — so if things sound a bit like Abbey Road, so be it!"

1. The Storm Won’t Come
2. The Rattle Within
3. Her Love Was Meant For Me
4. Bones Of Gilead
5. The Dog In You
6. Trying
7. Do All These Tears Belong To You?
8. My Rock, My Rope
9. You Can’t Reach Me
10. O Cinderella
11. No Matter
12. Pride
13. Shaking The Gates

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it