Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Doc & Merle Watson - Bear's Sonic Journals: Never the Same Way Once: Live At The Boarding House

 (Night 2 - May 2, 1974)


Owsley Stanley Foundation



Product No.:

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 192kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 3.0 GB Total play length: 1:29:18 Cover art and liner notes included

 "The most extraordinary Doc Watson ever captured on tape. Ever.” –Robert Baird, Stereophile, Recording of the Month (October 2017)

“A legend recording a legend.” – T. Michael Coleman, Bass

Previously-unreleased live recordings of Doc and Merle Watson from the archive of legendary soundman and counter-culture icon Owsley Stanley.

Audiophile production, mastered from the original archive tapes by Owsley’s hand-picked engineer, Jeffrey Norman, and re-clocked by Plangent Processes to remove timing distortions.

· Doc Watson was an American guitarist, songwriter and singer of bluegrass, folk, country, blues and gospel music, who won 7 Grammys, and a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award.
· Owsley Stanley, the soundman for The Grateful Dead, was the father of the modern rock and roll concert sound system.
· This is the first release by the Owsley Stanley Foundation from Bear’s Sonic Journals, Owsley’s storied trove of 1300+ live concert recordings from the 1960s and 1970s, including recordings by Miles Davis, Johnny Cash, The Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Fleetwood Mac, Janis Joplin, and more than 80 other diverse artists and idioms.
· Liner notes include a new interview with bassist T. Michael Coleman, an essay by Starfinder Stanley, son of Owsley Stanley, and original artwork by Mike DuBois.

"The late Owsley "Bear" Stanley spent his life raising consciousness. Whether it was mixing up jars of LSD, building his famous Wall of Sound PA system for the Grateful Dead, or supervising the creation of an incredible library of live recordings, Bear Stanley was after a certain purity, a higher level of quality, epiphanies... Bear certainly did know how to record in this room. The audience is audible, as are the between-tune exchanges among the three men—and most of Doc's jokes are funny. The tapes were processed using the Plangent system, to correct any wow and flutter and to recover lost frequencies. The result is exceptional sound, intimate yet three-dimensional." -Robert Baird, Stereophile Recording of the Month (October 2017)

About the Owsley Stanley Foundation:
The Owsley Stanley Foundation is a 501c(3) dedicated to the preservation of “Bear’s Sonic Journals,” Owsley’s archive of more than 1,300 live concert soundboard recordings from the 1960s and 1970s, including recordings by Miles Davis, Johnny Cash, The Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, Fleetwood Mac, Janis Joplin, and more than 80 other artists across nearly every musical idiom. All proceeds to the Foundation from the development of the recordings further the continuing charitable purpose of preserving Bear’s Sonic Journals and perpetuating Owsley's legacy.

1. Introduction
2. Good Old Mountain Dew
3. Travellin' Man
4. Miss the Mississippi and You
5. Wabash Cannonball
6. Leather Britches / Cotton Eyed Joe
7. A Rovin' On A Winter's Night
8. Tennessee Stud
9. Black Mountain Rag
10. St James Infirmary
11. Love Me
12. Blue Suede Shoes
13. Sweet Georgia Brown
14. Lonesome Moan
15. Clouds Gwine Roll Away
16. Three Times Seven
17. Peach Pickin' Time In Georgia
18. Poor Boy Blues
19. Nancy Rowland / Salt Creek
20. Alberta
21. Movin' On
22. Smoke! Smoke! Smoke!
23. Walk On Boy
24. Nothin' To It
25. Blue Railroad Train
26. Brown's Ferry Blues
27. Beaumont Rag

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it