Gilbert O'Sullivan - Gilbert O'Sullivan


BMG Rights Management



Product No.:
ABMG 38522
EAN: 4050538385229
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record

Original Price: $18.98
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)

All Sales Final on This Item

or Add to Wishlist

New studio album featuring "Where Did You Go To?" and "The Same The Whole World Over"

Gilbert O'Sullivan's 19th studio album since his 1971 debut Himself feels in some ways a kindred spirit to that record, which yielded his first hit, the poetic and powerful breakthrough "Nothing Rhymed." It's organic, almost live feel is encouraged by new, acclaimed producer Ethan Johns and the songs sail on the perennial O'Sullivan strengths of evocative tunes and wry insight.

The album was recorded on analog equipment at O'Sullivan's Forbisher Drive Studios, Jersey, in easy-going sessions with players hand-picked by Ethan Johns and also features guest appearances from several incredible musicians: Andy Fairweather Low (guitar), Chas Hodges (piano) and Geraint Watkins (piano — Van Morrison, Nick Lowe).

The resulting album is a collection of some of the finest songs Gilbert has ever written and recorded. Ranging from the melancholy charm of "At The End Of The Day" or "I'll Never Love Again" to the brisk, buoyant "Penny Drops," "What Is It About My Girl" and Ethan's favorite, the rollicking "This Riff." There are musings on aging and mortality, and also, of course, crisp comic touches, something O'Sullivan attributes to his love of Spike Milligan.

Side 1
At the End of the Day
The Same the Whole World Over
Love How You Leave Me
What Is It About My Girl
I'll Never Love Again
Where Did You Go To?

Side 2
Dansette Dreams and 45's
No Head for Figures but Yours
Penny Drops
This Riff
The Mind Boggles
For the Record

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it