Walter Bishop Jr. Trio - Speak Low Again





Product No.:
CVEN 0289 SA
EAN: 4580051150047
In Stock

Single Layer SACD


or Add to Wishlist

"This is one of the last sessions by Walter Bishop, Jr. prior to his death in 1998. The veteran bop pianist is in great form on this trio date with bassist Paul Brown and drummer Al Harewood, which mixes standards, bop classics, and several originals. Bishop's jaunty approach to 'Yardbird Suite' is a gem, while his lush treatment of 'The Masquerade Is Over' finds the rhythm section staying softly in the background. He revisits 'Speak Low,' a centerpiece of his first date as a leader some 32 years earlier, playfully detouring into Billy Strayhorn's 'Rain Check' and leaving room for a few drum breaks by Harewood. His 'Valley Land' is an intense mid-tempo samba, while 'Keiko's Samba' kicks into a higher gear. This Japanese CD on the Venus label is worth seeking." — AllMusic

SHM-SACD (Super High Material SACD) is the ultimate Super Audio CD that utilizes the materials and technologies that were developed for the SHM-CD to further enhance the audio-resolution. These discs are made with polycarbonate developed for the screen of the liquid crystal display. As it has a higher transparency, players can read the signal more faithfully.

• 2-channel Single Layer SACD
• Two-channel SACD layer only, to secure enough reflectance and not to compress DSD file.
• Label of the disc is printed with a special green ink called 'Onsho Shiyou,' which minimizes diffuse reflection.
• Carefully selected master audio is used, from existing DSD files to newly converted from analog tapes.
• This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player
• Japanese pressing

Walter Bishop Jr., piano
Paul Brown, bass
Al Harewood, drums

1. Speak Low
2. Valley Land
3. Bish Bash Blues
4. The Masquerade Is Over
5. Keiko’s Samba
6. Just Friends
7. Yardbird Suite

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it