Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.





Product No.:
EAN: 8012871019458
In Stock

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

Hybrid Stereo SACD

After a highly successful tour, this album came out in 1999, from the project known as "Tribute to Chet Baker" by the quintet of Enrico Rava and Paolo Fresu, with Stefano Bollani (piano), Enzo Pietropaoli (bass), Roberto Gatto (drums). Now available in SACD.

In 1998, on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the death of Chet Baker, Enrico Rava and Paolo Fresu, conceived the project of a series of concerts dedicated to Chet Baker. The tribute to the great trumpet player, with whom three members of the tribute group played (Rava, Pietropaoli and Cat) is immediately understood not just in the sense of tribute, but in the sense of revival: in the style of the leaders, both so close to the poetics of Baker, in the choice of songs (not just those made famous by Baker, but also those he loved , although he played them rarely), in short, in the recreation of an atmosphere, crystallized in those golden 1950s, the years of troubled youth of Baker, to which most of the songs can be traced back.

A clarification: The tracks of the leaders are engraved on two different channels (Rava the left, Fresu the right); Moreover, both have done a song "alone,", in a sort of personal homage: Enrico Rava "Retrato em branco and preto" (Antonio Carlos Jobim) and Paolo Fresu "You Can not Go Home Again" (Don Sebesky).

1. Doodlin’
2. My Funny Valentine
3. Anthropology
4. Retrato Em Branco E Preto
5. Doxy
6. You Can’t Go Home Again
7. Line For Lyons
8. Strike Up The Band
9. Donna

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it