Various Artists - Concert For George

 (4 LP Box Set, Includes a Special-Etched Side-8)


Concord Craft Recordings



Product No.:
ACONC 0041
UPC: 888072030060
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 4

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist


180-gram 4LP box set!

First time ever on vinyl! Special mandala-design on side 8

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings!

On the 29th November 2002, one year to the day that George Harrison died, his closest friends gathered to celebrate his life before a sold-out audience at Royal Albert Hall in the only way they knew how — by playing his music. The Concert For George is a beautiful, joyous celebration of some of the the most significant music of the 20th century.

This set includes breathtaking performances of some of George's songs from rock's most influential artists and pop culture icons including Eric Clapton, Jeff Lynne, Paul McCartney, Tom Petty, Monty Python, Billy Preston, Jools Holland, Ravi and Anoushka Shankar, Joe Brown, Ringo Starr, Dhani Harrison and many more. Tom Hanks also sits in with Monty Python for a hysterical send-up of "The Lumberjack Song."

This memorial includes an insight into George's spiritual self as Anoushka Shankar, with orchestra, perform a special composition by her father, Ravi Shankar, who was also a mentor to George. Also captured is a rare performance by members of the Monty Python team performing some of George's favorite skits, in honor of his sense of humor. The night closes with live performances by Eric Clapton, Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, Tom Petty and more singing George's songs.

In honor of George Harrison's 75th birthday (February 25, 2018), the Grammy-winning Concert For George will be available for the first time on vinyl, released as a 4-LP Box Set. Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings, makers of the world's finest-sounding LPs, to ensure superior sound.

• 180-gram vinyl
• 4LP box set
• Released for the first time ever on vinyl
• Featuring a special mandala-design etched on side 8
• Includes the complete concert sound recordings, the first time all songs have been made available
• Features performances by Eric Clapton, Paul McCartney, Tom Petty, Ringo Starr and more!




LP 1
1. Sarve Shaam – Traditional Prayer
2. Your Eyes - Anoushka Shankar
3. The Inner Light - Jeff Lynne & Anoushka Shankar
4. Arpan - Conducted by Anoushka Shankar

LP 2
1. The Lumberjack Song – Monty Python with Tom Hanks
2. Sit On My Face – Monty Python
3. I Want To Tell You - Jeff Lynne
4. If I Needed Someone - Eric Clapton
5. Old Brown Shoe - Gary Brooker
6. Give Me Love - Jeff Lynne
7. Beware Of Darkness - Eric Clapton
8. Here Comes The Sun - Joe Brown
9. That’s The Way It Goes - Joe Brown
10. Horse To The Water – Jools Holland & Sam Brown
11. Taxman - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

LP 3
1. I Need You - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers
2. Handle With Care - Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers with Jeff Lynne & Dhani Harrison
3. Isn’t It A Pity - Billy Preston
4. Photograph - Ringo Starr
5. Honey Don’t - Ringo Starr
6. For You Blue - Paul McCartney
7. Something - Paul McCartney & Eric Clapton
8. All Things Must Pass - Paul McCartney
9. While My Guitar Gently Weeps - Paul McCartney & Eric Clapton

LP 4
1. My Sweet Lord - Billy Preston
2. Wah Wah - Eric Clapton & Band
3. I’ll See You In My Dreams - Joe Brown

Customer Reviews (2.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Oh, my! What a disappointment.

posted on 08/16/2020
2 Stars
Reviewer: Michael Bicak
I have loved this concert since day 1. I have the DVD, and watch/listen to it every few months. So, I decided to splurge and buy the 4-disc LP version. Sadly, it is atrocious.

The packaging is splendid, and the silence of the discs is first-rate. Kudos to the disc presser. The transfer of the original soundtrack to analog . . . terrible. The low end is foreshortened - almost absent compared to the dvd; the sound-stage is collapsed to a ball of muddle in the center; the harmonic balance is really poor; it is, overall, a congested mess.

Save yourself the $$; stick with the DVD - it is a more honest representation of the event held for George.

This is the first LP purchase I've made in a long while that is a total bust. btw - my analog playback system is not the issue; guaranteed. I so, so, so wanted this to be good. Sigh . . . alas . . . you can't always get what you want, eh Mick?

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.