Joe Turner - Big Joe Rides Again


Speakers Corner (Atlantic)



Product No.:
AATL 1332
EAN: 4260019715463
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

That the experts inducted "Big Joe" Turner into the Blues Hall of Fame in 1983, i.e. during his lifetime, is surely in order when one considers how he expressed his attitude to life with his 12-bar stylistic freedom. That he was additionally honored by being posthumously inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, however, makes one wonder whether the incorruptible experts had made a mistake. No matter what: this giant of a man with his big, gentle voice had certainly earned a place of honour in the era of swing as well.

Turner, who appeared on stage with Goodman, Ellington, Tatum and — in later years — with Gillespie and Eldridge, offers his listeners many facets of the blues. The opening number, "Switchin' In The Kitchen," is a fairly fast boogie-woogie where the vocal swings freely with sharp blasts in the background. Other swinging numbers, in which jazz champions such as Coleman Hawkins and Ernie Royal perform solos, include several ballad-like evergreens ("Pennies From Heaven"), which Turner and his band elaborate to become an imposing aria ("Until The Real Thing Comes Along").

The grooves of this LP are distinguished by means of the open, unfiltered Atlantic sound. The saxophone solos in particular, complete with the clicking of the valves and blowing noise, give one the feeling that the soloist is performing in your living room.

This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the master tapes through to the cutting head. All royalties and mechanical rights have been paid.


1. Switchin' In The Kitchen
2. Nobody In Mind
3. Until The Real Thing Comes Along
4. I Get The Blues When It Rains
5. Rebecca
6. When I Was Young
7. Don't You Make Me High
8. Time After Time
9. Pennies From Heaven
10. Here Comes Your Iceman

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it