Allison Pierce - Year Of The Rabbit


Analog Spark



Product No.:
UPC: 888072033603

Vinyl Record

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Also available on:
FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download

Debut solo release from Allison Pierce, best known as half of the successful sister duo The Pierces

Produced by renowned producer Ethan Johns

Allison Pierce is launching the second chapter of her distinguished career with her new album Year of the Rabbit, an eloquent straight-from-the-heart solo debut. The new album finds Pierce transformed after two decades of recording and performing with her sister Catherine as The Pierces.

The duo's five albums and constant tours brought them critical acclaim and a loyal fan base. But as the years passed, each longed to express herself unfettered by the other and in 2015, The Pierces called it quits, whereupon the sisters launched solo careers.

For Year of the Rabbit, Pierce enlisted producer and multi-instrumentalist Ethan John (Ryan Adams, Ray LaMontagne, Kings of Leon). The two of them made the album essentially by themselves at Hollywood recording mecca Sunset Sound, in much the same way Johns acted as producer and one-man studio band on LaMontagne's 2004 debut LP, Trouble. As always, Johns recorded in computer-free analog mode and the luminous results of this methodology serves to underscore the timelessness of the songs and performances.

The first single "Evidence" is presented in classic folk-rock style with a jangling 12-string electric guitar, cantering groove and sultry overdubbed harmonies that frame Pierce's contemporary retelling of the myth of the Original Sin. The lilting, piquant "Fool Him" explores the travails of would-be lovers who can't seem to get in sync, while "I Can See for Miles" ponders losing someone, longing for them and looking for them everywhere. Year of the Rabbit unfurls in distinct, insinuating increments, a product not just of the songs themselves but also Pierce's ability to fully inhabit them, subtly adapting her vocal inflections from song to song to accommodate the musical atmospheres.


1. Fool Him
2. Evidence
3. Follow You Down
4. Never Coming Back
5. Sea Of Love
6. Drink One For You
7. I Can See For Miles
8. To The Grave
9. It Is Well With My Soul
10. A Kiss Before You Go
11. Bed Of Nails
12. Peace Like A River

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

A masterpiece of the Americana genre

posted on 09/04/2018
5 Stars
Reviewer: 300B4me
This is an emotionally engaging album from beginning to end. Starting with the first cut Ms. Pierce will grab your attention and won't let go until the end of the last cut on side 2!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.