Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Neil Young - Hitchhiker





Product No.:
AREP 560639
UPC: 093624912613
In Stock

140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: 140 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

140-gram vinyl

Neil Young's "lost" acoustic album recorded in Malibu in 1976

Includes two previously unreleased songs!

Rock icon Neil Young's 1976 acoustic album Hitchhiker finally gets an official release. On August 11th, 1976, Young walked into Indigo Studios in Malibu and recorded 10 songs with his acoustic guitar. The results of that session are collected on Hitchhiker, a new Young LP due out on September 8th.

Many of the songs have surfaced on previous Young albums, albeit in different forms: "Human Highway" appeared two years later on 1978's Comes a Time, while "Powderfinger," "Ride My Llama" and "Pocahontas" showed up on Rust Never Sleeps (1979), and "Captain Kennedy" came out on 1980's Hawks & Doves. Hitchhiker also contains a pair of never-before-released songs — "Hawaii," "a soaring ballad," and "Give Me Strength," which Young has occasionally performed live.

Young recorded Hitchhiker with David Briggs, who helped produce many of Young's most famous albums, including Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere, After the Gold Rush and On the Beach. John Hanlon, another long-time collaborator, contributed some post-production to the original Malibu recordings.


1. Pocahontas
2. Powderfinger
3. Captain Kennedy
4. Hawaii
5. Give Me Strength
6. Ride My Llama
7. Hitchhiker
8. Campaigner
9. Human Highway
10. The Old Country Waltz

(5 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.
Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.