Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg - Bruckner: Symphony No. 1 & 4 Orchestral Pieces





Product No.:

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Sorry, this Product is no longer available. Please check out the alternatives below.

Total download size: 2.5 GB Total play length: 1:03:07
Cover art and liner notes included

In his keenly anticipated first release for Pentatone, rising young star Gustavo Gimeno conducts the Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg in a riveting performance Bruckner's towering First Symphony, heard in the lesser-known ""Vienna"" version of 1890-1891. Bruckner's massive orchestral landscapes often feel like unstoppable forces of nature: radiant, magnificent and thrilling, with a soul-searching beauty and power. Feelings of reverence and awe are accentuated by organ-like sonorities which are given new dimensions with blazes or orchestral color and disconcerting titanic shifts. Little wonder that his first symphony so bemused audiences at its premiere. Also included in this release are his Four Orchestral Pieces from 1862. These intriguing but sometimes overlooked works give a fascinating insight into Bruckner's developing compositional style. ""Yesterday, a true conductor was born in the Concertgebouw"", wrote the Dutch newspaper Het Parool of Gustavo Gimeno's conducting debut with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra in 2014. His career has since taken off to widespread acclaim. In a busy schedule, he has since debuted with major orchestras in Europe and American and toured with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra to Taiwan and Japan.

Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, WAB 101 (1891 Vienna Version): I. Allegro
Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, WAB 101 (1891 Vienna Version): II. Adagio
Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, WAB 101 (1891 Vienna Version): III. Scherzo. Lebhaft - Trio. Langsam
Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, WAB 101 (1891 Vienna Version): IV. Finale. Bewegt, feurig
March in D Minor, WAB 96
3 Pieces, WAB 97: No. 1, Moderato
3 Pieces, WAB 97: No. 2, Allegro non troppo
3 Pieces, WAB 97: No. 3, Andante con moto

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it