Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Long After Dark





Product No.:
AGEF 58456
UPC: 602547658456
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP  

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers are releasing stand-alone 180-gram vinyl reissues, all but one included as part of The Complete Studio Albums Volume 1 (1976-1991) released last year to commemorate the 40th anniversary of the band's self-titled debut album.

Quality Record Pressings is pressing eight titles, which include Damn the Torpedoes, Hard Promises, Long After Dark, Pack Up The Plantation-Live (2LP), Southern Accents, Let Me Up (I've Had Enough), Full Moon Fever and Into the Great Wide Open. Pack Up The Plantation-Live was not included in the Volume 1 (1976-91) box set.

Each LP includes full replica artwork.

"By the time of this 1982 album, Tom Petty was a bona fide American rock star, if not exactly a pop icon. Perhaps bowing to that status, Petty essentially commercialized a sound that had heretofore worn its Dylan/Byrds influences proudly on its sleeve. Perhaps he and the Heartbreakers had become status conscious — or mistakenly took their oft-misapplied new wave label too close to heart. Or, more likely, Petty's muse was simply strained to the limit after four exceptionally strong albums in a row and the interminable touring that went with them.

"'Change of Heart' recalls earlier peaks while 'You Got Lucky' remains a classic, but there's a sense the album's larger production (including synths and a thicker overall sound) was filling something of a void in Petty's songwriting." —

1. A One Story Town
2. You Got Lucky
3. Deliver Me
4. Change Of Heart
5. Finding Out
6. We Stand A Chance
7. Straight Into Darkness
8. The Same Old You
9. Between Two Worlds
10. A Wasted Life

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it