Product No.:
CVEN 0214 SA
EAN: 4571292518970
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

Di Martino plays Thelonious Monk!

John Di Martino, composer, arranger, pianist, has recorded many CDs for Venus Records with his "Romantic Jazz Trio." Noted for his versatility, John has performed and recorded with such notables as Kenny Burrell, James Moody, Joe Lovano, David "Fat Head" Newman, Pat Martino, Paquito D'Rivera and Houston Person.

"Of the 70 published Monk compositions, two dozen or so are performed more often than the rest. With that thought in mind, it is more difficult for a pianist to break new ground on a record date, though Di Martino has a few twists in store. Monk's 'Epistrophy' alternates between an intense staccato attack and a straight-ahead bop groove. 'Round Midnight' is easily Monk's best-known work; Di Martino doesn't overly attempt to stretch the boundaries of its theme, but improvises thoughtfully while maintaining the essence of its haunting melody. The fun romp through 'Well, You Needn't' contrasts with the relaxed setting of 'Eronel.' Di Martino's lyrical title track is a tribute to Monk and (presumably) Japanese novelist Haruki Murakami, an enjoyable piece that doesn't attempt to mimic Monk's writing style." — Ken Dryden, All About Jazz

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!
• Japanese pressing

John Di Martino, piano
Essiet Okon Essiet, bass
Victor Jones, drums


1. Epistrophy
2. Criss Cross
3. Bermsha Swing
4. Ask Me Now
5. Rhythm-A-Ning
6. Round Midnight
7. Well You Needn’t
8. Pannonica
9. Eronel
10. Ugly Beauty
11. Magical Mystery for Monk and Murakami
12. Blue Monk
13. In Walked Bud

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it