Emerson, Lake & Palmer - Works Volume 2

 (2017 Remaster)





Product No.:
ABMG 698020
UPC: 190296980206
In Stock

140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: 140 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

140-gram LP

New 24-bit/96k 2017 remaster of the 1977 LP

Remastered from the original tapes

Original jacket and artwork; foreword on the LP audio by Greg Lake

Formed in 1970, Emerson, Lake & Palmer were torchbearers of the progressive rock sound and one of rock's first super-groups. The world-conquering, stadium-filling prog giants helped to broaden the audience for the genre from hundreds of thousands into tens of millions and were one the most commercially successful rock bands of the 1970s. Their first seven album releases all made the U.K. albums chart Top 10 and U.S. Top 20.

Works Volume 2 is ELP's sixth studio album, released in 1977, and now expertly remastered for the first time in 24-bit / high density formats from the original tapes. The album's brief, eclectic compositions cover an array of musical styles, combining stimulating originals and handsomely orchestrated renditions of "Maple Leaf Rag," "Honky Tonk Train Blues," and "Show Me The Way to Go Home." Works 2 showcases incredibly strong performances from all three band members — Keith Emerson, Greg Lake and Carl Palmer. Includes the massive hit "I Believe in Father Christmas," Greg Lake's beautiful composition, highlighting his strong voice and vibrant acoustic guitar.



The album comprises three solo band member LP sides, with the fourth as the complete group. Features ELP's anthemic and stylish "Fanfare For The Common Man," a massive hit which reached No. 2 in the U.K.; the brilliant, Keith Emerson compiled, Piano Concerto No.1, performed with the London Philharmonic Orchestra; excellent romantic songs from Greg Lake at the peak of his creativity, and hard rocking classical adaptations from Carl Palmer — featuring Joe Walsh on lead guitar for one song. Works 1 took ELP's bombastic, keyboard-driven prog rock epics to the limit.

Side 1
01 Tiger in a Spotlight (2017 Remastered Version)
02 When the Apple Blossoms Bloom in the Windmills of Your Mind I'll Be Your Valentine (2017 Remastered
03 Bullfrog (2017 Remastered Version)
04 Brain Salad Surgery (2017 Remastered Version)
05 Barrelhouse Shake-Down (2017 Remastered Version)
06 Watching Over You (2017 Remastered Version)

Side 2
01 So Far to Fall (2017 Remastered Version)
02 Maple Leaf Rag (2017 Remastered Version)
03 I Believe in Father Christmas (2017 Remastered Version)
04 Close but Not Touching (2017 Remastered Version)
05 Honky Tonk Train Blues (2017 Remastered Version)
06 Show Me the Way to Go Home (2017 Remastered Version)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it