Judee Sill - Heart Food


Intervention Records



Product No.:
AITV 017
UPC: 707129301413
Back Ordered

45 RPM Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: 180 Gram

45 RPM

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
Hybrid Stereo SACD

180-gram 45 RPM double LP

  • AAA Mastered From the Original Analog Master Tapes
  • Double 45 RPM LPs for Extreme Sound Quality
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Dead Quiet 180-Gram Vinyl Pressed at RTI
  • Beautifully Restored Gatefold Jacket Art by Stoughton
"This sequel to her eponymous debut would be the last released in her lifetime. If you fell in love with her music because of it, Heart Food will increase your sadness at her demise. Released in 1973, it enhanced her reputation with material left over from the first album, but re-recorded for this set, while stand-out tracks from this eloquent, elegiac singer-songwriter include 'The Kiss," and 'There's A Rugged Road,' both oft-covered. Behind her were stellar musicians including Chris Ethridge on bass, drummer Jim Gordon, bluegrass deity Doug Dillard on banjo and Buddy Emmons on pedal steel guitar. Yes, this is another masterpiece." Sound Quality = 90% - Ken Kessler, HiFi News, January 2018
Intervention Records presents Judee Sill's classic 1971 debut, Judee Sill and her stellar followup Heart Food. Each album is cut as a double-45RPM LP set and pressed on dead-quiet 180-gram vinyl.
The astonishing Judee Sill was the first artist signed to David Geffen's Asylum Records, and Judee Sill  was the first album released on the label. Sill's music is intensely spiritual, redolent of mystical and divine imagery, yet grounded by great songwriting and a pure but powerful singing talent. Her songs impart incredible intimacy that is enhanced by her sometimes complex string arrangements (remarkably Sill arranged and conducted the strings/orchestra on these albums!).  
Sill's life was tragic personally and professionally. Her father and brother were killed when Sill was young, and her tempestuous relationship with her alcoholic (and remarried) mother resulted in her leaving home at 15. She committed robberies and began a battle she was destined to lose against drug addiction. When stardom didn't follow the critical acclaim of these two albums her career never recovered. Sill was dead from a drug overdose in 1979 at just 35. The brevity of Judee's musical legacy is outweighed by the emotional power and weight of these two extraordinary albums.
Judee Sill and Heart Food were AAA mastered directly from the original analog master tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio. The master tapes are in beautiful shape, and listeners will be blown away by the revelatory inner detail and three-dimensionality retrieved from these achingly gorgeous recordings. These new Intervention reissues represent THE definitive listening experience for these classic LPs! 
The original LP art has been beautifully restored by IR's Tom Vadakan and the old-style, "tip-on, brown-in" gatefold jackets are printed by Stoughton. 
"Rapturous and otherworldly." — Rolling Stone

"... it's hard to suppress the inner light of Sill's work. It shines." — Pitchfork

1. There's a Rugged Road
2. The Kiss
3. The Pearl
4. Down Where the Valleys Are Low
5. The Vigilante
6. Soldier of the Heart
7. The Phoenix
8. When the Bridegroom Comes
9. The Donor

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it