Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Kris Kristofferson - The Austin Sessions






Product No.:
AATL 83208
UPC: 081227943677
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl

In the summer of 1997, Kris Kristofferson spent a few days in Texas recording stripped-down versions of his best-known songs. Released by Atlantic Records in 1999, The Austin Sessions pairs the acclaimed outlaw country songwriter with a band of studio aces and guest harmony vocalists for intimate versions of classics like "Me and Bobby McGee," "Why Me?" and "Sunday Morning Coming Down."

Rhino Records celebrates these powerful recordings with a remastered vinyl version of The Austin Sessions.
Kristofferson recorded The Austin Sessions at Arlyn Studios in Texas with a group of session veterans from Los Angeles and Nashville who were hand-picked by Mollin, who also plays acoustic guitar on the album. Kristofferson's longtime touring guitarist Stephen Bruton appears on several songs as well.

Mollin recalls: "I knew in my heart that I could pull off a great under-produced production and give Kris the album he always wanted to make: one that felt like it had the uniqueness and rootsy feeling that Dylan accomplished on his early electric albums."

Several guests join Kristofferson on the album, including Jackson Browne ("Me And Bobby McGee"), Steve Earle ("Sunday Morning Coming Down"), Vince Gill ("Help Me Make It Through The Night"), Catie Curtis ("Nobody Wins"), and Mark Knopfler ("Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends").

Side 1
01 Me And Bobby McGee (Remastered)
02 Sunday Morning Coming Down (Remastered)
03 For The Good Times (Remastered)
04 The Silver Tongued Devil And I (Remastered)
05 Help Me Make It Through The Night (Remastered)

Side 2
01 Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again) [Remastered]
02 To Beat The Devil (Remastered)
03 Who's To Bless And Who's To Blame (Remastered)
04 Why Me (Remastered)
05 Nobody Wins (Remastered)
06 The Pilgrim: Chapter 33 (Remastered)
07 Please Don't Tell Me How The Story Ends (Remastered)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it