Rush - 2112

 (40th Anniversary Edition)


Island Records



Product No.:
AISL 84001
UPC: 602557202700
Back Ordered

200 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 3

200 Gram LP

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
Special Hologram Edition + Download Code

40th Anniversary Expanded 200-gram 3LP set!

Classic 1976 album features original LP album plus two bonus LPs of rare, live and unreleased material!

Includes 2015 hologram, special laser-etched side and unique turntable mat with iconic Starman character

After celebrating more than 40 years together with the same trio line-up, Universal Music Enterprises continues the celebration of the Rush catalog with the release of 40th anniversary expanded editions of the band's classic 1976 album 2112. This 200-gram 3LP edition, plated and pressed by Quality Record Pressings, includes the original 2112 on LP, and an additional 2LPs of rare, live and previously unreleased material including newly-recorded tracks from 2112 featuring Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters along with Nick Raskulinecz, Billy Talent, Steven Wilson, Jacob Moon and Alice In Chains. The vinyl set comes complete with a special laser-etched LP side, the 2015 hologram on 2112's side B, and a unique turntable mat featuring the band's iconic Starman character.

All versions of 2112: 40th feature extensive liner notes by renowned rock historian Rob Bowman, and newly designed artwork by longtime Rush art director Hugh Syme. The set's rare recordings include "Solar Federation," spotlighting the isolated Neil Peart vocals that close the song "2112" in "Grand Finale," two outtakes from the 1976 Massey Hall concerts including "Something For Nothing" and a nearly complete 15+ minute performance of "2112," as well as a recently-rediscovered live version of the album track "The Twilight Zone," which has only been performed twice in the band's long history.

The epic 2112 album, which guitarist Alex Lifeson described as "the first record where we sounded like Rush," is widely regarded as a crucial landmark in Rush's body of work. Although it was the band's fourth album, it's generally considered to be the one on which the band's epic sound and ambitious conceptual approach blossomed. Resisting record-company pressure to focus on shorter, more radio-friendly songs, the band stuck to its guns and constructed the album's seminal seven-part, 20-minute title piece, a conceptual suite set in a dystopian future.

In addition to its status as a creative landmark, 2112 was also Rush's commercial breakthrough, becoming the band's first album to reach the Billboard LP chart and the first Rush album to achieve gold sales status in the U.S. (it was subsequently certified platinum). 2112 was also Rush's first platinum album in Canada, spawning a now-legendary Canadian tour that culminated in a three-night stand at Massey Hall in Toronto, which was recorded for Rush's first live album, All the World's a Stage. 2112 is one of two Rush albums listed in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die, and it ranked second on Rolling Stone's 2012 readers' poll of "Your Favorite Prog Rock Albums of All Time."

• 200g 3LP-set includes original album; rare live outtakes from the '76 Massey Hall shows; additional unreleased material; & newly-recorded tracks from 2112 by Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins, Nick Raskulinecz; Alice In Chains and more
• Also includes 2015 hologram on the B-side plus new custom laser-etching and unique Starman turntable mat
• Newly designed artwork by Hugh Syme and extensive liner notes by rock historian Rob Bowman

LP 1: Original Album
1. Overture
2. The Temples Of Syrinx
3. Discovery
4. Presentation
5. Oracle: The Dream
6. Soliloquy
7. Grand Finale
8. A Passage To Bangkok
9. The Twilight Zone
10. Lessons
11. Tears
12. Something For Nothing

LP 2: Covers & Bonus Tracks
1. Solar Federation
2. Overture (Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins & Nick Raskulinecz)
3. A Passage To Bangkok (Billy Talent)
4. The Twilight Zone (Steven Wilson)
5. Tears (Alice In Chains)
6. Something For Nothing (Jacob Moon)
7. 2112 (Live At Massey Hall 1976 Outtake)

LP 3: More Bonus Tracks (Red Star + Circuit Board Vinyl Image Etching on Side Six)
1. Something For Nothing (Live At Massey Hall 1976 Outtake)
2. The Twilight Zone (Live 1977 Contraband)
3. 2112 Radio Ad

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it