Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Rocco Filippini - Bach: Suites





Product No.:
EAN: 8012871012558
In Stock

Hybrid Stereo SACD

No. of Discs: 2

Hybrid Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

Son of Felice Filippini (painter, writer and broadcaster) and of the pianist Dafne Salati, Rocco Filippini began his musical training at an early age. Of decisive importance was his meeting with Pierre Fournier who became his teacher along with Professor Franz Walter of the Geneva Conservatory. It was from the Geneva Conservatory that Rocco Filippini received his diploma at the age of 17, being awarded the Premier Prix de Virtuosité, an accolade not given for the previous 36 years. He continued to perfect his playing with his teachers, who came to include the violinist Corrado Romano. At the age of 23 he won the Geneva International Music Competition and embarked on his performing career.

With a wide musical repertory, from Baroque to contemporary works, Rocco Filippini has played in the main concert halls of Europe, North and South America, Australia and Japan, and at numerous well-known festivals. In 1968 with Bruno Canino and Cesare Ferraresi he founded the Trio di Milano, which was subsequently joined by the violinist Mariana Sîrbu. He was a founder member in 1992 of the Quartetto Accardo. He has performed in numerous concerts at the La Scala theatre in Milan, where he has played in recitals with cello and piano, performed the György Ligeti concerto with the Scala Philarmonic Orchestra, and taken part in many chamber music concerts, often in association with Maurizio Pollini, with whom he has performed concert programmes for several years in Rome, London, Tokyo and New York, and at the Rossini Opera Festival in Pesaro and Salzburg festivals. At the Salzburg Festival in 2002 he premièred Fabio Vacchi's Tre Veglie, with Anna Caterina Antonacci, accompanied by the Orchestre de Paris conducted by Ivan Fischer.

Some of today's leading composers have dedicated works to him: Franco Donatoni, Ala; Luciano Berio, Elaborazione per violoncello e contrabbasso based on his duets for two violins; Giovanni Sollima, The Songlines; Salvatore Sciarrino, Il paese senz'alba. Rocco Filippini performed the première of Salvatore Sciarrino's Trio no. 2 at the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam in 1987, and in 2003 he conducted Sciarrino's Cadenzario performed by the Giuseppe Verdi Orchestra of Milan.

Rocco Filippini has edited works from the cello repertory for Ricordi: Bach Suites, Popper 40 Studies op. 73, Servais 6 Caprices op. 11 and Piatti 12 Caprices op.25 and has published arrangements of Wagner's Wesendonck Lieder and De Falla's Siete Canciones Populares Españolas. His many recordings include discs for RCA, Fonè, Nuova Era, Assai, Fonit Cetra Italia, Amadeus, Ricordi, Symphonia, Dynamic, etc.

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!



Sacd 1
Suite I BWV 1007 in sol maggiore/in G major
1) Prélude 2.32
2) Allemande 3.38
3) Courante 2.24
4) Sarabande 2.50
5) Menuet 3.02
6) Gigue 1.47
Suite II BWV 1008 in re minore/in d minor
7) Prélude 3.25
8) Allemande 3.06
9) Courante 1.57
10) Sarabande 4.07
11) Menuet 2.58
12) Gigue 2.33
Suite III BWV 1009 in do maggiore/IN C major
13) Prélude 3.27
14) Allemande 3.20
15) Courante 3.02
16) Sarabande 4.11
17) Bourrée 3.17
18) Gigue 3.03

Sacd 2
Suite IV BWV 1010 in mi bemolle maggiore/in E flat major
1) Prélude 3.55
2) Allemande 4.01
3) Courante 3.29
4) Sarabande 4.08
5) Bourrée 4.28
6) Gigue 2.32
Suite V BWV 1011 in do minore/in c minor
7) Prélude 6.27
8) Allemande 5.47
9) Courante 2.06
10) Sarabande 3.01
11) Gavotte 4.28
12) Gigue 2.17
Suite VI BWV 1012 in re maggiore/IN D major
13) Prélude 4.47
14) Allemande 6.51
15) Courante 3.32
16) Sarabande 4.50
17) Gavotte 4.10
18) Gigue 4.00

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it