Green Day - Revolution Radio





Product No.:
AREP 555326
UPC: 093624920076
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
FLAC 88kHz/24bit Download

The 12th full-length studio release for the Northern California punk trio

Self-produced LP includes socially conscious songs

"The 12 songs that comprise the svelte but satiating Revolution Radio are among the finest to which Green Day have put their name." — Kerrang!, October 1, 2016, p.50

Green Day is older, wiser and mad as hell on their 12th full length studio release, Revolution Radio. Lead vocalist and guitarist Billie Joe Armstrong, bassist and backing vocalist Mike Dirnt, drummer Tré Cool and guitarist and backing vocalist Jason White, set the tone with the album's Clash-like police-siren guitar, Tré Cool's combustible drum tumult and Billie Joe Armstrong snarling about cherry bombs and gasoline as if he's looking around his garage for stuff that might set the world on fire, writes Rolling Stone.

And so he does: The explosive American-angst autopsy "Bang Bang" hits as hard as anything on their Nineties classics Dookie and Kerplunk; when Armstrong sings, "I want to start a rager," it doesn't matter that he's appropriating the voice of a power-mad school shooter. You'll wanna rage right along.

But Revolution Radio isn't just hot nostalgia. It reflects decades of accrued emotional and musical wisdom. "Somewhere Now" is a call for personal and political clarity with a ringing R.E.M. brightness, and "Outlaws" is like an anarcho-thrash Seventies soft-rock ballad. Armstrong's lyrics are colored by his struggles with addiction and fears about our Trump-y future. "If this is what you call the good life/I want a better way to die," he rants over the contusive mosh-pit bounce of "Forever Now," before demanding a revolution on his radio as the song lifts toward Who-huge triumph. It's a noise built to push him through darkness and into the next scary dawn.

1. Somewhere Now
2. Bang Bang
3. Revolution Radio
4. Say Goodbye
5. Outlaws
6. Bouncing Off The Wall
7. Still Breathing
8. Youngblood
9. Too Dumb To Die
10. Troubled Times
11. Forever Now
12. Ordinary World

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it