Sir Thomas Beecham - Sibelius: Symphony No. 7





Product No.:
AHIR 053
EAN: 5060218890539

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

180-gram vinyl

Cut from the orginal analog master tapes at Abbey Road Studios!

This Hi-Q release is a classic: Sibelius: The Oceanides, Symphony No.7 and the Incidental Music to Pelleas et Melisande. Sir Thomas Beecham conducts the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. These performances were taped in early stereo in 1955, when the composer was still alive and many celebrations were held to mark his 90th birthday on the 8th of December 1955, including a Royal Festival Hall concert given by Beecham and the RPO. Beecham had a great affinity for Sibelius's music and was much admired by the composer and was even honored by Norway with The Order of the White Rose. Incidentally, Sir Thomas didn't have to travel far for these Abbey Road sessions: he lived a short stroll away at 31 Grove End Road, St John's Wood.

"Sibelius wrote a very large mass of highly genial and attractive music. I’m thinking of all those delightful suites, symphonic poems like En saga and Pohjola’s Daughter, and that rather strange composition – very strange indeed – The Oceanides, which, incidentally, the composer has asked me to record. I don’t know why: I shall ask him one day why he asked me to do this very special thing. Of course I shall do it – naturally." – Sir Thomas Beecham

...And with this recording he did, shortly after a 90th birthday concert for the great Finnish composer at the Royal Festival Hall on December 8th, 1955 (Sibelius’s birthday), the same year he was awarded the Order of the White Rose of Finland for conducting Sibelius.

In the original review of the mono LP in The Gramophone of September 1957, Lionel Salter remarked that "Beecham captures the magic of this closely-knit, highly organic score... every phrase is lovingly moulded... The engineers have contributed an excellent balance and very clear tone." When the stereo LP was released in 1962, Salter confirmed "Beecham’s performances... are beautifully shaped and tremendously intense."

Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original stereo analog master tapes with the Neumann VMS82 lathe fed an analog pre-cut signal from a specially adapted Studer A80 tape deck with additional ‘advance’ playback head, making the cut a totally analog process.

Pressed on 180-gram vinyl to audiophile standards using the original EMI presses by The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England. Features the original album artwork.

• Hi-Q Records Supercuts 180-gram vinyl
• Cut at Abbey Road Studios from the original stereo analog master tapes
• Superior audiophile pressing
• Features original album artwork
• Pressed using the original EMI presses by The Vinyl Factory in Hayes, England

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Sir Thomas Beecham, Bart., C.H., conductor

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Side A:
1. Tone Poem: The Oceanides, Op. 73
2. Symphony No. 7 in C Major, Op. 105

Side B:
Pelleas et Melisande, Op. 46 - Incidental Music
1. No. 1: At the castle gate
2. No. 2: Melisande
3. No. 3: A spring in the park
4. No. 4: The three blind sisters
5. No. 5: Pastorale
6. No. 6: Melisande at the spinning wheel
7. No. 7: Entr'acte
8. No. 8: The death of Melisande

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it