Denny Zeitlin Trio - As Long As There's Music





Product No.:
CVEN 0145 SA
EAN: 4571292518147
In Stock

Single Layer SACD

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.


or Add to Wishlist

Denny Zeitlin is an American jazz pianst and composer. He's recorded more than 35 albums including more than 100 original compositions.

"The part-time nature of Denny Zeitlin's music career hasn't harmed his pianistic abilities one iota, as this trio date for the discerning Japanese market demonstrates. Beautifully recorded, with world-class support from Buster Williams (bass) and Al Foster (drums), the album is mostly set in the thoughtful, harmonically complex idiom now identified with Bill Evans but with outbreaks of swinging fervor. There are two original Zeitlin tunes — "There and Back," with a definite Evans flavor, and the more unpredictable wanderings of "Canyon." The rest of the tunes are Great American Songbook favorites, jazz standards (Zeitlin is particularly inventive and swinging on John Coltrane's modified blues "Cousin Mary"), and the traditional token bossa nova (A.C. Jobim's "Triste"). A conservative record, yet quite beautiful." — AllMusic

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Denny Zeitlin, piano
Buster Williams, bass
Al Foster, drums

1. As Long As There’s Music
2. They Can’t Take That Away From Me
3. For Heaven’s Sake
4. There And Back
5. I’m All Smiles
6. Cousin Mary
7. Triste
8. Canyon
9. I Fall In Love Too Easily
10. The Man I Love

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it