Joe Beck Trio - Brazilian Dream





Product No.:
CVEN 0137 SA
EAN: 4571292518062
Back Ordered

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

"Joe Beck has had a long career, though he remains an artist deserving of wider recognition. These 2005 sessions are a relaxing affair that will delight fans of Brazilian jazz. Joined by bassist Ira Coleman and drummer Thierry Arpino (who is known for his work with violinist Jean-Luc Ponty), Beck's fluid electric guitar (while sometimes overdubbing an acoustic rhythm line) makes the most of each selection, playing a heavy dose of popular tunes by Antonio Carlos Jobim and his own tasty originals.

"Highlights among the Jobim compositions include the bittersweet 'O Grande Amor' and the easygoing 'Felicidade.' Harmonica player Gregoire Maret is added for the leader's gentle bossa nova 'And Here's to You' and Jobim's bittersweet 'Falando De Amor.' Beck also offers an inventive samba arrangement of John Coltrane's 'Giant Steps' that adds a few twists while played at a slower-than-typical tempo, so it sneaks up on the listener. Highly recommended! " — AllMusic

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Joe Beck, guitar
Ira Coleman, bass
Thierry Arpino, drums
Gregoire Maret, harmonica

Recorded at The Studio in New York on September 27 & 30, 2005.

1. Vivo Sonhando
2. Manha De Carnaval
3. Aquarius
4. O Grande Amor
5. Felicidade
6. And Here’s To You
7. Brazil
8. Ela E Carioca
9. Falando De Amor
10. Zanzibar
11. Giant Steps
12. What Would I Do Without You?

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it