Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

The Ray Brown Trio - Soular Energy


Pure Audiophile



Product No.:
APUR 002

180 Gram Vinyl Record

No. of Discs: 2
Note: Gatefold Sleeve

180 Gram LP    

Also available on:
DVD Audio/Video

Ray Brown, Gene Harris and Gerryck King are spectacular in this 1984 recording. Red Holloway (tenor sax) and a rare appearance by the great Emily Remler (guitar) round out the original musicians. Stan Ricker plays the bass to this day and is a big fan of Ray Brown, making his half-speed remastering of this record a special situation. RTI pressed this gem on 180-gram virgin vinyl. The LPs are individually numbered and packaged in gatefold jackets. This is the first of a special series of Pure Audiophile LPs called the "Lab Reference Series." This version of Soular Energy includes three fantastic alternate takes mixed by Phil Edwards at PER just like with the original session. Another track, "CC Rider," was added as a bonus to even out the four sides of this incredible two-LP set. 

1. Exactly Like You
2. Cry Me A River
3. Teach Me Tonight
4. Take The 'A' Train
5. Mistreated But Undefeated Blues
6. That's All
7. Easy Does It
8. Sweet Georgia Brown
9. Mistreated but Undefeated Blues (alternate take)
10. Cry Me A River (alternate take)
11. Take The 'A' Train (alternate take)
12. CC Rider