Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Ocean Carolina - Maudlin Days

 (+ Download Code)


Old Hand Record Company



Product No.:
AOHR 035
UPC: 707541856690
In Stock

140 / 150 Gram Vinyl Record

Note: 150 Gram


or Add to Wishlist

Limited edition 150-gram vinyl

Album download included, offer subject to expiration

"With a well-worn croon reminiscent of masters Tom Petty and Neil Young, and a gentle balance of musical elements that will have you hitting repeat, Michael Simone proves that sincerity pays, and as long as music is Ocean Carolina's therapy, we'll be listening." — Elmore Magazine

"At the core of Ocean Carolina's new record, Maudlin Days, singer-songwriter Michael Simone beautifully bares his heart and soul on top of captivating grooves rooted in Americana." — Chuck Armstrong,

Ocean Carolina are based in Brooklyn, NY and are fronted by singer, songwriter, guitarist Michael Simone, whose musical journey has evolved through the years in an eclectic manner with Prince, Joe Satriani, Metallica, Eddie Van Halen and The Cure sited as early influences before the late Jeff Buckley seems to have ignited the singer-songwriter gene that was obviously lying dormant somewhere below the surface. The Raleigh / Chapel Hill, North Carolina scene has produced some fine bands over the years and Simone a native of the area, was familiar with many of the local acts such as Dillon Fence and The Connells.

"The first thing that springs to mind when you hit play on Maudlin Days is sounds absolutely glorious. In fact it sounds so good that you'll be amazed to find that the record was completed in a brief 11 days. Producer Jon Graboff, a member of Ryan Adams & The Cardinals, was enlistened to helm the record so that a more natural / old school approach could be utilized. Looking back on the first Ocean Carolina album All The Way Home Simone felt he had got too obsessed with the computer technology at his disposal which enabled him to endlessly tinker with the record. This time out he was searching for an approach that would give the album a sound and feel similar to their live shows. Graboff brings the added benefit of his abilities with a range of guitars including pedal steel." — September 2015,

Michael Simone: vocals, acoustic guitar, organ on "Don't Carry On" and "Summersmile," and electric guitar on "Little Things" and "Someday Soon."
Alex Cox: bass guitar and electric piano on "Once You've Done Me Wrong"
Dave Wanamaker: electric guitar
Tony Leone: drums and percussion
Chris Buckle: 12 string electric guitar on "All I Can Do" and electric guitar on "Words"
Jon Graboff: electric, acoustic, 12-string electric, baritone guitars and pedal steel

1. All I Can Do
2. Words
3. Once You’ve Done Me Wrong
4. Cry Baby Cry
5. If It Burns Out Bright
6. Nobody Wants To Cry
7. Don’t Carry On
8. Something
9. Summersmile
10. Little Things
11. Yer Feet
12. Someday Soon

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it