Tony Christie & Ranagri - The Great Irish Songbook


Stockfisch Records



Product No.:
CSFR 4087 SA
EAN: 4013357408722
Limited Stock

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD
(Not Eligible for Additional Discount)


or Add to Wishlist

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record

This album is not an idiosyncratic whim dreamed up over a few "jars" at the local pub, but brings to light an aspect of Tony Christie the artist (real name: Anthony Fitzgerald) that many won't have expected. The songs have profited immensely from the contemporary arrangements, making the "golden oldies" shine with a new brilliance.

Various successful albums tipped the vote away from naming the production Simply in Love with Irish Music or alternatively Made in Northeim. Quite deservedly, this album has been called The Great Irish Songbook — the current album of the "Great Irish Singer" Tony Christie.

With this SACD Tony Christie traces his family roots, which are very definitely in Ireland (not Amarillo). Like many of his generation, his great-grandfather went over to England looking for work. The legacy he left behind was a button accordion on the living-room cupboard and the songs of Ireland in the hearts of his family.

This is really Tony Christie's masterful musical homage to his heritage and his ancestors. For his fans and all other interested parties this album is a very gratifying and uplifting journey to the mysteries of the Irish-Celtic music culture — modern and in excellent sound quality.


1. Cliffs of Dooneen
2. On Raglan Road
3. The Banks of The Lee
4. Spancil Hill
5. Star of The County Down
6. When You Were Sweet Sixteen
7. Lord Franklin
8. She Moved Through the Fair
9. Carrickfergus
10. The Black Velvet Band
11. Wild Mountain Thyme
12. The Parting Glass

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it