Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

John Barry - Zulu

 (Original Soundtrack)


Fantastic Voyage



Product No.:
AFVY 231
EAN: 5055311072319
In Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

180-gram vinyl reissue of the original film soundtrack

Remastered from the original stereo tapes

Originally released in 1964, Zulu is among the most popular of John Barry's early soundtracks, and the main theme is still frequently heard on radio, conjuring up images of the British army's courageous defence of (and the Zulus' equally fearless assault on) Rorke's Drift during the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879, as depicted in Cy Endfield's memorable film.

John Barry (1933-2011) was one of the best known composers of film music in the world. His early career found him working as in-house arranger for EMI, leader of hit instrumental combo the John Barry Seven, and composer, arranger and conductor on the first UK soundtrack album (the Adam Faith vehicle Beat Girl). After Barry's involvement as arranger on the first James Bond film "Dr No" in 1962, he was appointed as primary composer for the film franchise. In 2002 he received the GoldenEye Award, courtesy of the Ian Fleming Foundation.

The BAFTA-nominated "Zulu" (1964) was directed by Cy Endfield with a cast including Stanley Baker, Michael Caine and Jack Hawkins. Originally released in 1964 on the British indie label Ember, the LP comprises soundtrack music (with two of the tracks incorporating narration by Richard Burton), followed by "A Selection of Zulu Stamps", which are essentially beat instrumentals flavoured with southern African influences, performed by the John Barry Seven.

Ember initially pressed the album in mono, switching to stereo for a 1972 reissue (same catalogue number), although a stereo pressing had previously surfaced in the USA. Long unavailable on vinyl, Zulu is now reissued by Fantastic Voyage as a 180-gram pressing, mastered from original stereo tapes. The vinyl is housed in the original Ember sleeve artwork, and bears the label design prevalent at the time of the stereo pressing.

John Barry went on to score many notable soundtracks, including the award-winning "Born Free," "The Lion In Winter," "Midnight Cowboy," "The Cotton Club," "Out Of Africa" and "Dances With Wolves." In 1999 Barry was appointed OBE for services to music.


Side 1 (Original Sound Track Recording)
Main Title Theme – Isandhlwana, 1879 – Narration spoken by Richard Burton
News of the Massacre – Rorke’s Drift Threatened
Wagons Over
First Zulu Appearance and Assault
Durnfords Horse Arrive and Depart – The Third Assault
Zulu’s Final Appearance and Salute
The V.C. Roll and Men of Harlech

Side 2 (Selection of Zulu Stamps)
Stamp and Shake
High Grass
Zulu Stamp
Big Shield
Zulu Maid
Monkey Feathers

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it