The Brothers Four - Sing Lennon/McCartney

 (Numbered Limited Edition)




Easy Listening

Product No.:
CSON 4089 SA
UPC: 888751408920
Back Ordered

Hybrid Stereo SACD

Hybrid Stereo SACD

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

Also available on:

Numbered, limited edition Hybrid SACD

The Brothers Four are perhaps best known for their 1960 hit song "Greenfields." Bob Flick, John Paine, Mike Kirkland and Dick Foley met at the University of Washington in 1956 where they were brothers in the Phi Gamma Delta fraternity.

The Brothers Four bear a distinction as one of the longest surviving groups of the late-'50s/early-'60s folk revival and perhaps the longest running "accidental" music act in history - 43 years and counting as of 2001, without any break and with two original members still in the fold. If few recognize that distinction, then it's because the Brothers Four were also part of a largely forgotten chapter in the history of folk music in America....

They turned professional completely by accident, as a result of a practical joke. A member of a rival fraternity arranged for a woman to telephone the group members, identifying herself as the secretary to the manager of a local Seattle venue, the Colony Club, and invite the quartet down to audition. When they got there, they discovered that there was no invitation or any audition scheduled, but since they were there anyway, the club manager asked them to do a couple of songs and ended up hiring them. The engagement lasted through most of 1958, and while they were often paid off only in beer, the experience was invaluable in that it allowed the group - christened after their impromptu audition as the Brothers Four - to pull its sound together as they never would have if they'd remained confined to occasional performances on campus.

In 1959, the quartet headed to San Francisco and met Mort Lewis, Dave Brubeck's manager, who later that year secured them a contract with Columbia Records. "Greenfields", their second single released in 1960, hit No. 2 on the pop charts and the self-titled debut album hit the Top 20.

The Brothers Four reached their peak of recognition in 1963 when they recorded "Hootenanny Saturday Night," the title theme from the ABC network series Hootenanny. The song itself was no major achievement, but it gave the quartet weekly exposure on the major television venue for folk music.

Finally yielding to the success of the British Invasion, with the introduction of The Beatles, and the more political music of Bob Dylan, The Brothers Four recorded The Brothers Four Sing Lennon/McCartney: A Beatles Songbook in 1966 which produced a hit on the easy listening charts with "If I Fell."


Try To Remember
1. Try To Remember
2. Sloth
3. Wild Colonial Boy
4. I Remember When I Loved Her
5. Sakura
6. Come Kiss Me Love
7. What Now My Love
8. Malaika
9. Born Free
10. Gimme That Wine
11. The Song From Moulin Rouge
12. When Ev'rything Was Green

The Brothers Four Sing Lennon-McCartney:
13. Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
14. Yesterday
15. All My Loving
16. Nowhere Man
17. I'll Follow the Sun
18. And I Love Her
19. If I Fell
20. Help!
21. Michelle
22. We Can Work It Out
23. Girl

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it