Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Okkervil River - Black Sheep Boy

 (10th Anniversary Edition)





Product No.:
AJAG 52280
UPC: 656605228013
Limited Stock

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 3


or Add to Wishlist

Okkervil River's Black Sheep Boy Deluxe 10th Anniversary reissue!

Three LP set includes album of roots covers - There Swims A Swan

In celebration of the 10-year anniversary of Okkervil River's iconic album, Jagjaguwar presents the Black Sheep Boy 10th Anniversary Edition , a three LP set combining the classic Black Sheep Boy album and its counterpart the Black Sheep Boy Appendix with an all new unreleased album of covers titled There Swims A Swan: full-band recordings made six months prior to the release of Black Sheep Boy which illuminate the album's roots in the traditional American songbook. Featuring beautiful, emotional readings of songs popularized by such artists as Washington Phillips, Lead Belly, The Louvin Brothers, and Roscoe Holcomb, There Swims A Swan takes the listener through the songs that inspired Will Sheff while composing Black Sheep Boy and plays like a run-through of that album's themes.

Black Sheep Boy is celebrated for its album artwork as well as its music, and the 10th Anniversary Edition collects that artwork in a meticulously reworked packaged, combining every previous element of (longtime Okkervil River illustrator) William Schaff's imagery — not to mention a large new piece by Schaff depicting an updated Black Sheep Boy. The release also includes lengthy liner notes by Will Sheff walking the listener through the circumstances surrounding the album.

Black Sheep Boy is Okkervil River's most ambitious and cinematic record yet, a love story and adult fable that evokes the mature songcraft of Leonard Cohen's New Skin for the Old Ceremony, the sophistication of Scott Walker's Scott 4, the shambling slow-motion bravado of Neil Young's On the Beach, and the raw nerves and trick effects of Big Star's Third/Sister Lovers. It also occasionally echoes Lou Reed's Transformer in that it is actually the band's most playful and confident record by far, delighting in linguistic games, scrapping all caution and reserve, reveling equally in sheer pop, lacerating rock and roll, and straight-up country weepers.

The most fully-realized and wildly adventurous Okkervil River record yet also introduces into the modern folk bellwether's traditional palette of mandolin, pump organ, steel guitar, Wurlitzer, strings and horns such previously foreign elements as children's keyboards, digitally-manipulated field recordings, and dirty splatters of distorted guitar.

Most of the songs for Black Sheep Boy were written by Sheff after he'd moved out of his house to spend all of 2003 on the road, touring for Down the River of Golden Dreams and road-tripping around the country during off weeks. For Okkervil River the 10th Anniversary Edtion is a loving, comprehensive, richly expanded presentation of a record many consider to be on the of the band's best.

LP 1
Black Sheep Boy
Side 1
1. Black Sheep Boy
2. For Real
3. In A Radio Song
4. Black
5. Get Big
6. A King And A Queen
Side 2
7. A Stone
8. The Latest Toughs
9. Song Of Our So-Called Friend
10. So Come Back, I Am Waiting
11. A Glow

LP 2
Black Sheep Boy (Appendix)
Side 1
1. Missing Children
2. No Key, No Plan
3. A Garden
4. Black Sheep Boy #4
Side 2
5. The Next Four Months
6. Another Radio Song
7. A Forest
8. Last Love Song For Now

LP 3
There Swims A Swan
Side 1
1. Goodnight Irene
2. I’m In Love With Susan Smith
3. See See Rider
4. Knoxville Girl
5. Satan Is Real
6. Good Liquor Gonna Carry Me Down
Side 2
7. Willow Tree
8. Moonshire
9. Oh, The Wind And Rain
10. What Are They Doing In Heaven Today
11. Trouble In Mind

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it