Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Neil Young - Bluenote Cafe





Product No.:
AREP 550219
UPC: 093624926115
Back Ordered

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 4

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

4LP set named for the horn-powered band backing Neil on his 1987-1988 tour

Recorded at various shows during Neil Young and Bluenote Café's 1988 tour, this superb live set documents one of Neil's most funky and heartfelt periods, featuring seven unreleased songs — "Soul of a Woman," "Bad News Comes to Town," Ain't it the Truth," "I'm Goin'," "Crime of the Heart," "Doghouse," "Fool for Your Love," — and a searing 19+ minute version of the immortal "Tonight's the Night" at The Pier in New York City. It was a wild night.

Bluenote Café takes its name from the horn-powered band which backed Neil on his 1987-1988 tour before and after the April '88 release of the studio album This Note's for You (originally credited to Neil Young and the Bluenotes, to the ire of soul great Harold Melvin). Familiar Young collaborators and Crazy Horse veterans filled the band, with the lineup consisting of Rick Rosas (bass), Chad Cromwell (drums), Frank Sampedro (keyboards), Steve Lawrence (lead tenor saxophone), Ben Keith (alto saxophone), Larry Cragg (baritone saxophone), Claude Cailliet (trombone), Tom Bray (trumpet), John Fumo (trumpet), Billy Talbot (bass) and Ralph Molina (drums).

This Archives volume has been sequenced in the manner of a complete show, drawn from numerous tour stops including Toronto, San Francisco, Hollywood, New York and Cleveland.


LP 1:
Side 1
1. Welcome To The Big Room
2. Don’t Take Your Love Away From Me
Side 2
3. This Note’s For You
4. Ten Men Workin’
5. Life In The City

LP 2:
Side 1
1. Hello Lonely Woman
2. Soul Of A Woman
3. Married Man
4. Bad News Comes To Town
Side 2
5. Ain’t It The Truth
6. One Thing
7. Twilight

LP 3:
Side 1
1. I’m Goin’
2. Ordinary People
Side 2
3. Crime In The City
4. Crime Of The Heart
5. Welcome Rap
6. Doghouse

LP 4:
Side 1
1. Fool For Your Love
2. Encore Rap
3. On The Way Home
4. Sunny Inside
Side 2
5. Tonight’s The Night

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 1 person(s) rated this product.

Visit This

posted on 12/07/2015
5 Stars
Reviewer: audiofan
Despite searching, I was unable to determine exactly who pressed this 4-disc set, and I'm too lazy to weigh the LPs to see if they're 140-gram (my best guess), but all 4 LPs in the set I received were as flawless as those pressed at Pallas - I think there was perhaps one or two slight "ticks" (static?) over the entire eight sides. Quite impressive indeed. The sonics are remarkably spacious and open and the sound quality (for a live recording from multiple venues) is remarkably seamless. Highly recommended!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.