Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Eric Alexander Quartet - Sunday In New York





Product No.:
CVEN 0105 SA
EAN: 4571292517461
Back Ordered

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD

This item is Back Ordered and currently unavailable.

Please inform me of any status changes for this product regarding its upcoming availability.

"Since finishing second to Joshua Redman in the Thelonious Monk Institute's tenor sax competition, Eric Alexander has built an impressive discography as a leader, while also drawing a lot of attention in both the U.S. and Japan. This Venus CD, recorded in 2005 and one of the last sessions by pianist John Hicks (who died just over a year later), primarily focuses on standards, with the exception of Hicks' tense hard bop vehicle 'Avotcja.' A loping treatment of 'Sunday in New York' is a solid opener, conveying the image of a brisk walk in Central Park on a cool autumn day.

Alexander's driving arrangement of 'Dearly Beloved' and the lush, slowly savored duet with Hicks of 'Like Someone in Love' are obvious highlights. He also revives the unjustly obscure 'My Girl Is Just Enough Woman for Me' in swinging fashion. The hard-charging setting of 'Alone Together' shows the influence of Dexter Gordon, while the gorgeous interpretation of 'My Romance' is the perfect wrap to an outstanding date. Bassist John Webber and drummer Joe Farnsworth, two of New York City's most in-demand players and regular collaborators with Alexander, provide strong support throughout the recording." —

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan


Eric Alexander, tenor sax
John Hicks, piano
John Webber, bass
Joe Farnsworth, drums

1. Sunday In New York
2. Avotcja
3. Dearly Beloved
4. Like Someone In Love
5. Watch What Happens
6. My Girl Is Just Enough Woman For Me
7. Alone Together
8. My Romance

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it