Tapiola Sinfonietta - Sibelius Humoresques - 2 Serenades - Suite for Violin and String Orchestra - Swanwhite Suite


2xHD - Ondine



Product No.:
In Stock

DSD (Double Rate) 5.6MHz/128fs Download

DSD (Double Rate) 5.6MHz/128fs Download

Total download size: 5.10GB Total play length: 1:04:16

Cover art and liner notes included

From original DSD master

"Four Stars...an aural delight of excellently spirited Sibelius..sonically splendid...the recorded sound has violin and antiphonal horns and winds streaking through the sonic stratosphere...warrants my recommending this disc for Best of the Year honours."

  • Audiophile Editions.

For lovers of Sibelius's famous Violin Concerto, this album offers an ideal opportunity to discover his less-performed works for violin and orchestra, played by celebrated Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto. Known as a cutting edge musician, Kuusisto is acclaimed for his tone, technique, infectious enthusiasm and his imaginative interpretations, all of which are on display here. The Tapiola Sinfonietta, one of the top professional orchestras in the Nordic countries, is famous for its fine performances of classical, contemporary and less familiar chamber orchestra repertoire.

Pekka Kuusisto and composer Jean Sibelius seem to be an ideal match. After his highly successful debut recording, playing the Sibelius concerto, Kuusisto returns here as soloist and conductor of the Tapiola Sinfonietta for another strong showing with some of Sibelius' lesser-known works for violin and orchestra.

This album was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original DSD master, using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier before being recorded directly in DXD using the dCS905 A/D and the dCS Vivaldi Clock. All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable.

DSD and 192kHz/24Bit versions are separately generated, directly from the analog signal.


1. Humoresque No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 87, No. 1 (revised 1940 version)
2. Humoresque No. 2 in D Major, Op. 87, No. 2
3. Humoresque No. 3 in G Minor, Op. 89a
4. Humoresque No. 4 in G Minor, Op. 89b
5. Humoresque No. 5 in E-Flat Major, Op. 89c
6. Humoresque No. 6 in G Minor, Op. 89d
7. 2 Serenades, Op. 69: Serenade No. 1 in D Major, Op. 69a
8. 2 Serenades, Op. 69: Serenade No. 2 in G Minor, Op. 69b
9. Suite for Violin and String Orchestra, JS 185: I. Country-Scenery
10. Suite for Violin and String Orchestra, JS 185: II. Evening in spring
11. Suite for Violin and String Orchestra, JS 185: III. In the summer
12. Swanwhite Suite, Op. 54: I. The Peacock
13. Swanwhite Suite, Op. 54: II. The Harp
14. Swanwhite Suite, Op. 54: III. The Maidens with the Roses
15. Swanwhite Suite, Op. 54: IV. Listen! The Robin sings
16. Swanwhite Suite, Op. 54: V. The Prince alone
17. Swanwhite Suite, Op. 54: VI. Swanwhite and the Prince
18. Swanwhite Suite, Op. 54: VII. Song of Praise

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it