Olli Mustonen - Beethoven Piano Concertos Nos. 1-2


2xHD - Ondine



Product No.:
In Stock

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

DSD (Single Rate) 2.8MHz/64fs Download

Only Available in the

Total download size: 2.40GB Total play length: 1:01:46

Cover art and liner notes included

From original DSD master. 

"...thoroughly refreshing and convincing...these are invigorating performances, with no small degree of poise in Mustonen's pianism and in his handling of the orchestra."

  • International Piano

This recording - the first release of a complete cycle with the Finnish pianist and conductor Olli Mustonen, who plays two of his own cadenzas in Opus 15 - demonstrates the vitality of the piano concerto genre, which Beethoven preferred for various reasons. Synonymous with the composer, the five great individualities lie like continents in the sea of music, out of which they were catapulted, as it were, with volcanic force. But their geology also developed in phases of varying lengths. After Beethoven's turbulent beginning in Bonn with the little E flat major concerto of 1784, historical developments forced a stylistic reorientation. In place of Johann Christian Bach, Mozart became his model.

This album was mastered using our 2xHD proprietary system. In order to achieve the most accurate reproduction of the original recording we tailor our process specifically for each project, using a selection from our pool of state-of-the-art audiophile components and connectors. The process begins with a transfer to analog from the original DSD master, using cutting edge D/A converters. The analog signal is then sent through a hi-end tube pre-amplifier before being recorded directly in DXD using the dCS905 A/D and the dCS Vivaldi Clock. All connections used in the process are made of OCC silver cable.

DSD and 192kHz/24Bit versions are separately generated, directly from the analog signal.


1. Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15: I. Allegro con brio
2. Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15: II. Largo
3. Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Op. 15: III. Rondo: Allegro scherzando
4. Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 19: I. Allegro con brio
5. Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 19: II. Adagio
6. Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 19: III. Rondo: Molto allegro

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it