Faces - 1970-1975: You Can Make Me Dance, Sing Or Anything...





Product No.:
ARHI 549460
UPC: 081227954482

Vinyl Box Sets

No. of Discs: 5
Note: 180 Gram

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

New Faces collection cut from the analogue tapes!

Includes newly remastered versions of four studio albums, with bonus rarities disc

5LP 180-gram vinyl box set limited to 7,500 copies

Album download cards included (offer subject to expiration)

Faces squeezed a lifetime's worth of rock 'n' roll into just five years. But despite their relatively short time together, Kenney Jones (drums), Ronnie Lane (bass/vocals), Ian McLagan (keyboard), Rod Stewart (vocals) and Ronnie Wood (guitar/vocals) have earned a spot on the short list of the world's greatest rock bands.

Rhino now presents You Can Dance, Sing Or Anything 1970-75, a five-LP vinyl edition cut straight from the analogue tapes! This vinyl set includes the four Faces' studio albums plus a bonus rarities disc, but will not contain the bonus tracks on the CDs. The 180-gram vinyl comes packaged in jackets that meticulously recreate each original release. For instance, push on the jacket on Ooh La La and the man's eyes on the cover move and his mouth opens, creating a look that's reminiscent of Terry Gilliam's animation work with Monty Python.

The You Can Make Me Dance, Sing Or Anything set includes: The First Step (1970), Long Player (1971), A Nod Is as Good as a Wink...to a Blind Horse (1971), and Ooh La La (1973), along with Stray Singles & B-sides. The bonus disc gathers up nine essential tracks that didn't appear on proper albums, including the 1973 single "Pool Hall Richard," a live performance of the Temptations' "I Wish It Would Rain" from the 1973 Reading Festival, and "Dishevelment Blues," a song that came free as a flexi-disc in copies of the British music publication, New Music Express.

Despite their hard-partying reputation, the band was a formidable powerhouse and could play it all — blues, soul, funk, country and boogie. These albums showcase that incredible range from bar stool anthems like "Had Me A Real Good Time," "Miss Judy's Farm," and "Stay With Me," to tender ballads that will leave you crying in your beer such as "Ooh La La," "Love Lives Here" and "Glad And Sorry."

The Faces came together in 1969 when former Small Faces Ian McLagan, Kenney Jones and Ronnie Lane hooked up with ex-Jeff Beck Group vocalist Rod Stewart and guitarist Ronnie Wood. The group's impact on music has only deepened since its break up in 1975. In recognition of the Faces' influence, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inducted the group in 2012.

First Step (1970)
1. Wicked Messenger
2. Devotion
3. Shake, Shudder Shiver
4. Stone
5. Around The Plynth
6. Flying
7. Pineapple and the Monkey
8. Nobody Knows
9. Looking out the Window
10. Three Button Hand Me Down

Long Player (1971)
1. Bad ‘N’ Ruin
2. Tell Everyone
3. Sweet Lady Mary
4. Richmond
5. Maybe I’m Amazed
6. Had Me A Real Good Time
7. On The Beach
8. I Feel So Good
9. Jerusalem

A Nod Is as Good as a Wink… to a Blind Horse (1971)
1. Miss Judy’s Farm
2. You’re So Rude
3. Love Lives Here
4. Last Orders Please
5. Stay With Me
6. Debris
7. Memphis, Tennessee
8. Too Bad
9. That’s All You Need

Ooh La La (1973)
1. Silicone Grown
2. Cindy Incidentally
3. Flags and Banners
4. My Fault
5. Borstal Boys
6. Fly in the Ointment
7. If I’m on the Late Side
8. Glad and Sorry
9. Just Another Honkey
10. Ooh La La

Bonus Disc
1. Pool Hall Richard (1973 single)
2. I Wish It Would Rain (with a trumpet) (live at Reading Festival ’73)
3. Rear Wheel Skid (bside of “Had Me A Real Good Time” 10/21/70)
4. Maybe I’m Amazed (single – cover Paul McCartney 4/6/71)
5. Oh Lord I’m Browned Off (bside of “Maybe I’m Amzed” 4/6/71)
6. You Can Make Me Dance, Sing or Anything (Even Take the Dog for a Walk, Mend a Fuse, Fold Away the Ironing Board, or Any Other Domestic Short Comings) (UK single version 1/22/75)
7. As Long As you Tell Him (bside of “You Can Make me Dance, Sing or Anything…” 11/22/74)
8. Skewiff (bside of “Cindy Incidentally” 2/9/73)
9. Dishevelement Blues (Free with the April 1973 issue of New Musical Express)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it