Van Der Graaf Generator - The Quiet Zone/ The Pleasure Zone

 (Japanese Import)





Product No.:
EAN: 4988005875976

SHM Single Layer SACDs

Note: OBI Strip may or may not be included and packaging may change as stock from manufacturer varies.

Sorry, this Product is no longer available.

Plays only in a Super Audio Disc Player

Eighth studio album from Van Der Graaf Generator!

The Quiet Zone/The Pleasure Dome, released in 1977, is the eighth album by British progressive rock band Van der Graaf Generator. It was their last studio album before their 2005 reunion. The album features a more energetic, new wave sound than its three immediate predecessors, anticipating singer and songwriter Peter Hammill's late '70s solo work.

For this album, bassist Nic Potter returned to the band, having left in 1970, and violinist Graham Smith (String Driven Thing), also joined the lineup, in place of the two members who had departed in the aftermath of their previous album, World Record: organist Hugh Banton and saxophonist/flautist David Jackson. This considerably modified the band's sound. Officially, the band's name was shortened to just "Van der Graaf" for this album and the live album Vital, that followed, but contemporaneous Charisma Records promotional materials used both the full and shortened name. Japanese pressing.

"Written and performed at the top of Hammill's game, this album is a delight." — AllMusic

1. Lizard Play
2. The Habit Of The Broken Heart
3. The Siren Song
4. Last Frame
5. The Wave
6. Cat’s Eye/Yellow Fever (Running)
7. The Sphinx In The Face
8. Chemical World
9. The Sphinx Returns
Bonus Tracks
10. Door
11. Ship Of Fools
12. The Wave

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it