Ted Rosenthal Trio - My Funny Valentine





Product No.:
CVEN 0090 SA
EAN: 4571292517317
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD


or Add to Wishlist

A collection of smart arrangements and gorgeous playing!

For Ted Rosenthal's second release on Venus, he dedicated the whole album to Helen Merrill — the exceptional singer who he has accompanied for more than ten years — by performing standars that are closely associated with her.

The album starts with "You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To," a track Merrill made her own on her album with Clifford Brown on trumpet and Quincy Jones as arranger. Rosenthal's smart arrangements and gorgeous, lyrical playing are complemented perfectly by George Mraz on bass and Al Foster on drums. The close interaction between the trio is astounding. Japanese pressing.

"Rosenthal easily meets the challenge of finding fresh paths into these frequently recorded songs..."AllMusic

• Single Layer Stereo SACD
• This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player

Ted Rosenthal, piano
George Mraz, bass
Al Foster, drums

1. You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To
2. My Funny Valentine
3. Alone Together
4. Lover Man
5. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
6. Don't Explain
7. Autumn Leaves
8. I Fall In Love Too Easily
9. Summertime
10. Falling In Love With Love
11. 'S Wonderful

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it