Eddie Higgins - Standards By Request 1st Day





Product No.:
CVEN 0087 SA
EAN: 4571292517287
In Stock

Single Layer Stereo SACD

Single Layer Stereo SACD

or Add to Wishlist

Veteran pianist performs standards requested by readers!

Pianist Eddie Higgins may not be well known in the U.S., but he is hands down the most famous and prolific musician on the Venus Records roster. Since his 1997 Venus debut, Higgins has released more than 20 albums from the label.

His latest releases are a pair of solo piano albums that include a collection of standards requested by readers of Swing Journal. Forty of the top requests were given to Higgins and the plan was to record material for only one album. However, after recording 15 tracks on the first day — an extraordinary feat in itself — Higgins wanted to continue. So another recording took place the next day where Higgins recorded another 15 tracks.

The tracks on this release are presented in the order they were recorded. No music sheets were involved. Higgins is so talented as a pianist that his own arranging and pacing of tunes — as well as its spontaneous arrangement — were highly successful. The producer didn't feel the need to change a thing.

Standards by Request 1st Day shows why Higgins is such a popular artist. It's all here — the beautiful sound, exquisite touch, stylish swing, and harmonious improvisation. Sit back and enjoy the work of a master!

• Single Layer Stereo SACD
• This disc will ONLY work on a Super Audio Disc Player

Eddie Higgins, piano

1. It's Magic
2. Easy Living
3. Gone With The Wind
4. I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues
5. Dear Old Stockholm
6. I Thought About You
7. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home To
8. My Old Flame
9. Once Upon A Summertime
10. Smoke Gets In Yours Eyes
11. Portrait In Black And White
12. In the Wee Small Hours
13. The Man I Love
14. These Foolish Things
15. Stella By Starlight

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it