Trio Mediaeval - Aquilonis





Product No.:
In Stock

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

FLAC 96kHz/24bit Download

Canada Eligible


or Add to Wishlist

Total download size: 991MB Total play length: 1:01:02

Cover art and liner notes included

Trio Mediaeval – three Scandinavian women whose singing produces “a sound of extraordinary and consoling beauty,” says the Boston Globe – offer a collection of polyphony from the medieval to the modern titled after the North Wind with their sixth ECM New Series release, Aquilonis. One can sense a reference in the title to the Nordic roots of the singers, as well as the bracing purity of their voices; moreover, the album’s repertoire travels from Iceland to Italy, from north to south like the Aquilonis wind. In creatively realizing Icelandic chant from the Middle Ages, Trio Mediaeval accompany their vocals with discreetly textural instrumentation. The group also arranged 12th-century Italian sacred pieces and sings 15th-century English carols, with timeless folk melodies in the air, too. From our contemporary age come works by the Swede Anders Jormin, American William Brooks and Englishman Andrew Smith. In his liner notes to Aquilonis, John Potter – former Hilliard Ensemble tenor and longtime Trio Mediaeval mentor – aptly describes the group’s ability to “create a synthesis of sound and atmosphere… history and geography blending seamlessly.”

1. Vespers Reponsory
2. Ama
3. Ave rex angelorum
4. Ecce quod natura mutat sua jura
5. Ave maria stella
6. Vespers Antiphon And Psalm I,II,III
7. Ioseph fili David
8. Ave regina caelorum
9. Alleluia: A Newe Work
10. Morgonljos
11. Vespers Antiphon And Psalm IV / V
12. Fammi cantar l'amor
13. Gud unde oss her at leve så
14. Benedicti e llaudati
15. Klokkeljom
16. Special Antiphon
17. Ingen vinner frem til den evige ro
18. Fryd dig du Kristi brud
19. I Hamrinum
20. Vale dulcis amice

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it