Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Jethro Tull - Aqualung

 (Steven Wilson Mix And Master)

Total download size: 840MB Total play length: 43:31

Cover art included, liner notes not included

"Released at a time when a lot of bands were embracing pop-Christianity (à la Jesus Christ Superstar), Aqualung was a bold statement for a rock group, a pro-God antichurch tract that probably got lots of teenagers wrestling with these ideas for the first time in their lives. This was the album that made Jethro Tull a fixture on FM radio, with riff-heavy songs like 'My God,' 'Hymn 43,' 'Locomotive Breath,' 'Cross-Eyed Mary,' 'Wind Up,' and the title track. And from there, they became a major arena act, and a fixture at the top of the record charts for most of the 1970s. Mixing hard rock and folk melodies with Ian Anderson's dour musings on faith and religion (mostly how organized religion had restricted man's relationship with God), the record was extremely profound for a number seven chart hit, one of the most cerebral albums ever to reach millions of rock listeners. Indeed, from this point on, Anderson and company were compelled to stretch the lyrical envelope right to the breaking point. [In the digital age, Aqualung has gone through numerous editions, mostly owing to problems finding an original master tape when the CD boom began. When the album was issued by Chrysalis through Columbia Records in the mid-'80s, the source tape was an LP production master, and the first release was criticized for thin, tinny sound; Columbia remastered it sometime around 1987 or 1988, in a version with better sound. Chrysalis later switched distribution to Capitol-EMI, and they released a decent sounding CD, as well as a 25th anniversary edition in 1996. Fifteen years later, the 40th anniversary was marked with varying editions, most of them including a previously unreleased stereo mix of the album plus additional recordings from 1970-71.]" — AllMusic

1. Aqualung
2. Cross-Eyed Mary
3. Cheap Day Return
4. Mother Goose
5. Wond'ring Aloud
6. Up To Me
7. My God
8. Hymn 43
9. Slipstream
10. Locomotive Breath
11. Wind-Up

Customer Reviews (5.00 Stars) 4 person(s) rated this product.

Really impressive!

posted on 12/17/2016
5 Stars
Reviewer: TSA
The audiophile cliché of a certain reissue “lifting a veil” is actually true for this 2011 remix and remaster by Porcupine Tree front-man Steven Wilson. I compared this remixed version with a decent rip of the DCC gold disc which was my previous reference.

In addition to being warmer and more detailed, the dreadful noise level that has plagued all previous versions I've heard has been completely eliminated. Now the subtlety of the piano opening of “Locomotive Breath,” for example, can be heard like never before. This version has the kind of clarity and blackness to the background that had me oohing and aahing as if it were the first time I experienced this classic record.

I was a little concerned by one comment stating that this remix is a complete re-visioning of the album. I disagree and feel like Steven Wilson carried on the spirit of the original mix. Wilson performed as great mastering job, as well. All in all, this version of Aqualung is what hi-rez should be about.


posted on 10/31/2016
5 Stars
I just cannot believe how good this sounds! So much depth and clarity. This is how it was intended to sound

Absolutely Astounding!

posted on 12/29/2015
5 Stars
Reviewer: Charlie
This has got to be the most amazing remix/remaster I've ever heard. It's almost a re-imagining of the entire album. Somehow there are subtle intonations and texture in the vocals that carry so much weight. And Cheap Day Return surprise!

Write a review and let people know what you think of this product OR just rate it.