Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Nikki Lane - All Or Nothin'



New West Records



Product No.:

FLAC 44kHz/24bit Download

Only Available in the

Sorry, this Product is no longer available. Please check out the alternatives below.

Also available on:
180 Gram Vinyl Record
+ Download Code

Total download size: 757MB Total play length: 1:07:35

Cover art included, liner notes not included

On her sophomore full-length and debut for New West, singer and songwriter Nikki Lane teams with producer Dan Auerbach and an all-star cast of players to turn in a spirited offering of rock & roll Americana. Lane wrote or co-wrote everything on the date. While she never strays too far from upstart country, there are some startling textures and backdrops in most of these songs that expand their reach into other genres. Despite its Waylon Jennings-esque two-four strut, opener "Right Time" is bathed in reverb, a distorted bassline, and a psychedelic pedal steel. While she has openly acknowledged Lucinda Williams as one of her major influences, it has never been more keenly felt than in Lane's delivery on "Good Man" with its saturated, broken-hearted, American Gothic romanticism. Auerbach paints her yearning vocal with glockenspiels, a honky tonk piano filtered through an echo chamber, layered pedal steel, and cracking snares. The slow, confessional narrative in "You Can't Talk to Me Like That" is a simple old-school country song with a twist: its backing vocal by the McCrary Sisters is modeled on classic girl group charts, and the B-3 comes right out of Bob Dylan's mid-'60s albums. Lead single "Seeing Double" is drenched in urgent surf guitars, reverbed snares, and whining pedal steel. Despite its quick tempo, Lane's vocal is unhurried; her South Carolina drawl slips through syllables, bleeding one line into the next. Auerbach is her vocal duet partner on "Love's on Fire." Though it begins as an acoustic country song, it unfolds into a full-blown epic with gorgeous fiddle, steel, and brushed snares and tom-toms. Their voices entwine perfectly in the verses and choruses. Lane co-wrote the honky tonk waltz "Out of My Mind" with J. Spaceman of Spiritualized. Saturated in acoustic guitars and upright piano, its soaring pedal steel recalls the production of a young Billy Sherrill. Carey Kotsionis' backing vocal underscores Lane's as the ache in its narrative is laid bare. The Hammond organ in "Wild One" fuels a sassy kiss-off song. Lane's songs and delivery are strong throughout All or Nothin'; they're more polished and crafted than those on Walk of Shame. With Auerbach as a partner, her vocals and arrangements co-exist to wed past to present both simultaneously and effortlessly.

1. Right Time
2. Good Man
3. I Don't Care
4. You Can't Talk To Me Like That
5. Seein' Double
6. Love's On Fire
7. All Or Nothin'
8. Sleep With A Stranger
9. Man Up
10. Out Of My Mind
11. Wild One
12. Want My Heart Back
13. Can't Get Enough
14. Right Time (Recorded live at Acoustic Cafe in Ann Arbor, MI)
15. Seein' Double (Recorded live at The Current in Minneapolis, MN)
16. You Can't Talk To Me Like That (Recorded live at The Current in Minneapolis, MN)
17. All Or Nothin' (Recorded live at Acoustic Cafe in Ann Arbor, MI)
18. Wild One (Recorded live at Acoustic Cafe in Ann Arbor, MI)
19. Want My Heart Back (Recorded at The Skype Live Studio for in Portland, OR)

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it