Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

Jay Reatard - Better Than Something: Jay Reatard

 (LP + DVD + Book)





Product No.:
AFAC 035
UPC: 082354254124
Limited Stock

Vinyl Record & DVD

No. of Discs: 2


or Add to Wishlist

Limited Edition LP/Book/DVD

For Jimmy Lee Lindsay, known to his fans and detractors as Jay Reatard, life was a race against time. After growing up fast among Memphis crack addicts, he managed to blaze a path through the rough-and-tumble underground rock scene of the early aughts, releasing more than 100 singles, EPs and full-length records in 14 years. Then on January 13, 2010, not yet 30, he died.

With their feature documentary Better Than Something, filmmakers Alex Hammond and Ian Markiewicz let Jay tell his own story: a poverty-stricken childhood, teen years spent as a two-fisted tunesmith battling fans and band mates alike, and a short-lived adulthood of focused and relentless productivity.

Jay said "I just try to make as much as I can with the time that I have." By any measure, that is exactly what he did.  Better Than Something is both a testament to Jay Reatard's indisputable legacy and a tribute to his vital, thrilling, and all-too-brief life.

Limited edition LP/Book/DVD includes
  • Better Than Something: Jay Reatard on DVD
  • A 14 track LP on vinyl of Jay Reatard rarities including 13 unreleased songs on black vinyl
  • A 50-page 12" book with essays by TV Smith (Adverts), Cole Alexander (Black Lips), King Khan, Alicja Trout, and more... Includes an unreleased interview with Jay Reatard, and never-before-seen photos 

Side 1
1. Such A Shame
2. Bummer Bitch
3. No One Stands Me
4. I Get Nervous
5. Tyrants Head
6. You Call It Love
7. Let It All Go

Side 2
8. Better Than Somethings
9. Fading All Away
10. Death Is Forming
11. Not A Substitute
12. Waiting For Something
13. Nightmares
14. Let It All Go

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it