Carriers are reporting longer-than-normal shipping times. Acoustic Sounds is not responsible for in-transit delays.

John Fahey - Blind Joe Death Volume 1


4 Men with Beards



Product No.:
A4MB 201
UPC: 646315120110
Limited Stock

180 Gram Vinyl Record

180 Gram LP

or Add to Wishlist

Acoustic guitarist John Fahey (1939-2001) was impossible to classify. His eclectic music included traditional-sounding folk pieces, Indian ragas, blues, and unpredictable modern works, not fitting securely into any specific category but somehow always sounding personal.

After moving to Berkeley, California, Fahey's career began to take off. After a mildly successful second album, Death Chants, Breakdowns, & Military Waltzes, he decided to re-release his earlier album. In doing so, he chose to re-record much of the material. In 1967, Fahey released successful with many albums under his belt. His first two albums would be released in stereo and both were re-recorded, resulting in this third version of Blind Joe's Death.

For several years major labels had been issuing records in both mono and stereo formats. By 1967 Takoma was doing well enough financially to justify the re-recording of Fahey's first and second albums for the burgeoning stereo market. Thus Volume 1: Blind Joe Death, as the record would be titled henceforth, was recorded for the third time and it is probably this release that most people are familiar with today. For the new version Fahey recorded all but one song on the album. He recorded one new track for the reissue: "I'm Gonna Do All I Can for My Lord." His new take of the Episcopal hymn "In Christ There Is No East or West" would become the most well-known and oft-played song on the album.


Side 1
1. On Doing An Evil Deed Blues
2. St. Louis Blues
3. Poor Boy Long Ways From Home
4. Uncloudy Day
5. John Henry
2. In Christ There Is No East Or West

Side 2
3. The Transcendental Waterfall
4. Desperate Man Blues
5. Sun Gonna Shine In My Backdoor Someday Blues
6. Sligo River Blues
7. I’m Gonna Do All I Can For My Lord

Be the first to write a review for this item OR just rate it